Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University · Division of Counseling

Online Master's in Addiction Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Addictions Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMACACREP: not listed

Overview

A 48-credit online MA in Clinical Addictions Counseling with two required intensives, a 100-hour practicum and 600 internship hours. The page states accreditation through NASAC.

Official program name
Online Master's in Addiction Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Clinical Addictions Counseling
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Marion, INWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
48 credit hours
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in clinical addictions counseling.

Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Intensive Required

    Two weekend intensives (Friday to Saturday), held in spring and fall, for students completing CNS 550, 551 and 552 online.

    Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100 hours of practicum.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600 hours of internship.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredTypewritten autobiography, philosophy of counseling and supplemental application.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendations, at least one from a professional.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredPersonal interview by invitation.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredRequired only for applicants with an undergraduate cumulative GPA below 3.0; verbal score of at least 146; successful graduate coursework may be substituted.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$610per creditEstimated tuition$29,280 = 48 credits × $610 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $29,280 (48 credits × $610 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • IWU is a member institution of NC-SARA and is authorized to deliver distance education courses and programs in all SARA-member states. Official pageSource: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureThe program page states the IWU program was used as the academic standard in Indiana's addictions counseling licensure law; students should verify requirements in their state. Official disclosureSource: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. indwes.edu/about/student-consumer-information/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. indwes.edu/academics/CAPS/school-of-integrated-health/division-of-counseling/_files/2026-2027-Studen — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. indwes.edu/academics/CAPS/school-of-integrated-health/division-of-counseling/division-of-counseling. — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. indwes.edu/program/MA-Counseling/Addictions-Counseling/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Indiana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Addiction Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Addiction Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 22, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Seattle University logo

Seattle University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Online, MAEd

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Education with a specialty in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Addiction Counseling

Master'sMAEd CACREP
Location: Seattle, WASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency, orientation; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 3 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $779 per credit · All students — Clinical Mental Health Counseling (per credit, 90 credits) · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Western New Mexico University logo

Western New Mexico University

Master of Counseling - Addiction Counseling (AC)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Silver City, NMSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified
Duration: three-year program · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,151.88 per semester · Resident (in-state) — Graduate resident, 3 credit hours per semester (tuition & fees + online fee) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Indiana Wesleyan University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.