Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University · Division of Counseling

Master's in School Counseling Online

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit online MA in School Counseling with two to four required onsite intensives, a practicum and two internships in approved school settings. Students choose an electives path or a specialization in clinical mental health counseling; both lead to one MA in School Counseling.

Official program name
Master's in School Counseling Online
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in School Counseling
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Marion, INWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hours, including 15 credit hours of electives
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2.5-year minimum, and 6-year maximum
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Winter
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in school counseling.

Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Intensive Required

    2–3 day live intensives for two courses, CNS-519 and CNS-529 (the handbook lists additional onsite intensives for CNS 523 and CNS 524 on the CMHC specialization path).

    Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Practicum in an approved school setting; the handbook describes practicum as a 100-hour experience.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredA practicum and two internships in approved school settings.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesStudents secure their own placements.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
IWU provides guidance, approved site lists and faculty support.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Practicum and internship hours in approved local school settings.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Two paths: 15 credit hours of counseling electives, or a specialization in Clinical Mental Health Counseling with field experiences covering both school counseling and CMHC; both earn one MA in School Counseling (not a dual degree).
    Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendations, including at least one from a supervisor or professional.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredPersonal interview by invitation.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredA writing sample.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Background check
RequiredCriminal background check.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcript from each undergraduate and graduate institution attended.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredCNS-500 New Student Orientation in the first term, including a Bible exam that must be passed to receive credit.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredRequired only for applicants with an undergraduate cumulative GPA below 3.25; successful graduate coursework may be substituted.
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$610per creditEstimated tuition$36,600 = 60 credits × $610 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $36,600 (60 credits × $610 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Tevera one-time fee
$195 entire programMandatory
Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since July 10, 2005 · current cycle ends October 31, 2030 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • IWU is a member institution of NC-SARA and is authorized to deliver distance education courses and programs in all SARA-member states. Official pageSource: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationAfter finishing coursework and passing the state's required exams, graduates are recommended for licensure or certification; requirements vary by state. Source: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureSchool Counseling pre-licensure disclosure (PDF, updated 2022-09-27) listing states where the curriculum meets or does not meet educational requirements. Official disclosureSource: indwes.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  3. indwes.edu/about/student-consumer-information/_files/pre-licensure/School-Counseling-Master-of-Arts. — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. indwes.edu/about/student-consumer-information/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. indwes.edu/academics/CAPS/school-of-integrated-health/division-of-counseling/_files/2026-2027-Studen — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. indwes.edu/academics/CAPS/school-of-integrated-health/division-of-counseling/division-of-counseling. — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. indwes.edu/program/MA-Counseling/School-Counseling/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Indiana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston

Counseling MEd (School Counseling), online program

Awarded degree: Masters of Education in School Counseling (Counseling MEd)

School Counseling

Master'sMEdCACREP: not listed
Location: Boston, MASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $673 per credit · Online students — School Counseling (Online track) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Adams State University logo

Adams State University

M.A. in Counseling - School Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Alamosa, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: 5 semesters for fall cohorts (12 credits per semester); 7 semesters for spring cohorts (9 credits per semester) (cohort plan of study) · 60 credits
Tuition: $545 per credit · All students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $32,700 (60 credits × $545 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 28, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Regent University logo

Regent University

M.A. in School Counseling (Online w/ Residency)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Virginia Beach, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $730 per credit · Online students — Master of Arts in School Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,800 (60 credits × $730 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Indiana Wesleyan University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.