Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Regent University logo

Regent University · School of Psychology & Counseling

M.A. in Marriage, Couple & Family Counseling (Online w/ Residency)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Marriage, Couple & Family Counseling

Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit CACREP-accredited online M.A. at $730 per credit (2026-27) with two required one-week on-campus residencies, a practicum and two internship courses. Regent states the degree leads to LMFT licensure.

Official program name
M.A. in Marriage, Couple & Family Counseling (Online w/ Residency)
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Marriage, Couple & Family Counseling
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Virginia Beach, VAWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: cdn.regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The same degree is also offered on campus in Virginia Beach (Fall cohorts) at $750 per credit; recorded separately.

Why this program is listed

Online master's degree in marriage, couple and family counseling.

Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    Two on-campus, one-week residencies (January and August) for students admitted to the online program.

    2 one-week residencies · Virginia Beach, VA

    Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredCOUN 523 Practicum & Advanced Skills.
Source: cdn.regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredCOUN 593A and 593B Internship in Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling.
Source: cdn.regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredB.A. or B.S. from a regionally accredited college or university.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 GPA for all undergraduate coursework.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredProfessional resume or CV including three references.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredOnline faculty interview, by invitation after file review.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredAdmissions questionnaire on professional goals and interests.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    November 1 (no year printed; Spring cohorts online only) · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    July 1 (no year printed; Fall cohorts online and on campus) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Master of Arts in Marriage, Couple & Family Counseling (Online)$730per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$43,800 = 60 credits × $730 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $43,800 (60 credits × $730 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Master of Arts in Marriage, Couple & Family Counseling (Online), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

University Services Fee (Online Students), per semester
$750 per semester
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since July 14, 2014 · current cycle ends October 31, 2032 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Applicants located in a state where the program does not meet licensure requirements, or where no determination has been made, cannot be admitted. Official pageSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Regent is an NC-SARA member; NC-SARA does not grant reciprocity for professional licensing requirements. Official pageSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Regent University is a member of NC-SARA. Official pageSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckyDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseyDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets education requirements: YesSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingDoes not meetMeets education requirements: NoSource: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cdn.regent.edu/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/MA-in-Marriage-Couple-Family-Counseling-ADP.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  4. regent.edu/academic-degrees/regents-licensure-programs-compliance-with-state-licensure-requirements/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. regent.edu/program/ma-in-marriage-couple-family-counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. regent.edu/school-of-psychology-and-counseling/contact/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Messiah University logo

Messiah University

Master of Arts in Counseling - Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Mechanicsburg, PASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Two-, three- and four-year timelines (up to six years allowed) (two-year model is accelerated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $820 per credit · All students — No-fee tuition per graduate credit hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
George Fox University logo

George Fox University

Master's Degree in Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling (Online Synchronous Track)

Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling

Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Newberg, ORSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person700 internship hours (as published)
Duration: eight semesters (fall cohorts) or 10 semesters (spring cohorts) (fall or spring cohort) · 64 credits
Tuition: $848 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: March 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Regent University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.