Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
George Fox University campus — Stevens Center at GFU
Stevens Center at GFU. Campus photograph of George Fox University. · Photo: M.O. Stevens · CC BY-SA 3.0 · source
George Fox University logo

George Fox University

Newberg, ORPrivate nonprofit NWCCUOfficial website

George Fox University's Graduate School of Counseling, based at the Portland Center, offers MA degrees in Clinical Mental Health Counseling and in Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling. Both are offered in a hybrid track and an online synchronous track with short Portland residencies.

Counseling programs at George Fox University

4 eligible programs verified (4 master's); formats: online, hybrid. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

George Fox University logo

George Fox University

Master's Degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Newberg, OR
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Study intensity not published
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required700 internship hours (as published)
Duration: eight semesters (fall cohorts) or 10 semesters (spring cohorts) (fall or spring cohort) · 60 credits
Tuition: $848 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: March 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
George Fox University logo

George Fox University

Master's Degree in Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling

Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling

Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Newberg, OR
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Study intensity not published
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required700 internship hours (as published)
Duration: eight semesters (fall cohorts) or 10 semesters (spring cohorts) (fall or spring cohort) · 64 credits
Tuition: $848 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: March 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
George Fox University logo

George Fox University

Master's Degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online Synchronous Track)

Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Newberg, ORSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person700 internship hours (as published)
Duration: eight semesters (fall cohorts) or 10 semesters (spring cohorts) (fall or spring cohort) · 60 credits
Tuition: $848 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: March 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
George Fox University logo

George Fox University

Master's Degree in Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling (Online Synchronous Track)

Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling

Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Newberg, ORSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person700 internship hours (as published)
Duration: eight semesters (fall cohorts) or 10 semesters (spring cohorts) (fall or spring cohort) · 64 credits
Tuition: $848 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: March 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

Accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since November 1, 1959 · next review 04/01/2027

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

The university states: “Accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)” Source: georgefox.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Published enrollment restrictions

State authorization rules decide whether the university can enroll you in an online program from your state. The university's location never decides it.

State authorization

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Masters (MA) in Social and Behavioral StudiesNon-clinical human services degree; not counselor preparation.Source: georgefox.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Postgraduate Certificates in Trauma-Informed Care, Play Therapy, Spiritual IntegrationCertificates.Source: georgefox.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
George Fox University
Control
Private nonprofit
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
414 N Meridian St, Newberg, OR 97132
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
43 master's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. georgefox.edu/catalog/graduate/colbh/gsc/g-ma-soc-beh-stu.html — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  5. georgefox.edu/catalog/graduate/colbh/gsc/index.html — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  6. georgefox.edu/counseling-programs/accreditation.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. georgefox.edu/counseling-programs/admissions/index.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. georgefox.edu/offices/academic_affairs/effectiveness/accreditation/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile