Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Regent University logo

Regent University · School of Psychology & Counseling

Ph.D. in Counselor Education & Supervision

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education & Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified

Overview

A 66-credit online Ph.D. with three residencies in the degree plan, three internship courses, an advanced clinical practicum and a dissertation. Full-time enrollment is required; tuition is $995 per credit (2026-27).

Official program name
Ph.D. in Counselor Education & Supervision
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education & Supervision
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — research doctorate (phd)
Counseling specialty
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Counselor education and supervisionDoctoral preparation for counselor educators, supervisors and researchers. It does not replace entry-level counselor preparation.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Virginia Beach, VAWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
Total Credit Hours: 66
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Summer
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Doctorate in counselor education and supervision.

Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    PhD Residency A, B and C (CES 705) in the degree plan; location not printed on the program page.

    3 residencies (A, B, C)

    Source: cdn.regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Internship
RequiredInternship I-III (CES 801-803).
Source: cdn.regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Practicum
RequiredCES 773 Advanced Practicum in Clinical Counseling.
Source: cdn.regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Dissertation

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredLicensure-track, 60-credit master's in counseling or a significantly related field; others may need additional coursework.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3.5 — Minimum 3.5 graduate GPA.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RecommendedAt least one year of experience in a mental health field (highly desirable).
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredProfessional resume or CV.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredBy invitation: virtual group and personal interviews with faculty during Admissions Week (January 26 and 28, 2027).
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredCACREP Core Competency Form with course descriptions and syllabi.
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    November 16, 2026 · for Summer 2027

    Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Final deadline

    December 14, 2026 · for Summer 2027

    Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education & Supervision, full-time$995per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$65,670 = 66 credits × $995 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $65,670 (66 credits × $995 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education & Supervision, full-time, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

University Services Fee (Online Students), per semester
$750 per semester
Source: regent.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Counselor Education and Supervision · Degree: Ph.D.Accredited since July 18, 2006 · current cycle ends October 31, 2032 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cdn.regent.edu/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/PhD-in-Counselor-Education-Supervision-ADP.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  4. regent.edu/academic-degrees/regents-licensure-programs-compliance-with-state-licensure-requirements/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. regent.edu/program/phd-in-counselor-education-supervision/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. regent.edu/school-of-psychology-and-counseling/contact/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Liberty University logo

Liberty University

PhD in Counselor Education and Supervision

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Lynchburg, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $630 per credit · Online students — Ed.S. and Doctorate programs, online, full-time per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,800 (60 credits × $630 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of the Cumberlands

Online Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision

Awarded degree: Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Williamsburg, KYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: Length not published · 66 credits
Tuition: $449 per credit · Online students — Graduate - Counseling Programs (Clinical Mental Health & CES), online, per credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $29,634 (66 credits × $449 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Adams State University logo

Adams State University

Ph.D. in Counselor Education & Supervision

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Alamosa, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency, orientation; fieldwork requirements not published
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $647 per credit · All students — PHD in Counseling: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,820 (60 credits × $647 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Regent University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.