Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Liberty University logo

Liberty University · Department of Counselor Education and Family Studies

PhD in Counselor Education and Supervision

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified

Overview

A 60-credit online Ph.D. that is intensive-based, with most courses offered online in a synchronous format, a 3-credit practicum, 9 credits of internship and a 9-credit dissertation. Applicants need a master's degree meeting CACREP entry-level standards with a minimum 3.25 GPA.

Official program name
PhD in Counselor Education and Supervision
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Counselor Education and Supervision
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — research doctorate (phd)
Counseling specialty
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Counselor education and supervisionDoctoral preparation for counselor educators, supervisors and researchers. It does not replace entry-level counselor preparation.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Lynchburg, VAWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 total hours
Source: catalog.liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Doctorate in counselor education and supervision.

Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Synchronous (live sessions)
Source: catalog.liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Intensive Required

    Intensive-based program; the exclusions page lists on-campus intensive requirements. The handbook describes both remote and campus-based intensive weeks.

    Lynchburg, VA

    Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required3-credit-hour practicum.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required9-credit-hour internship (Internship I-III).
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • 9-credit-hour dissertation and dissertation defense.
    Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Comprehensive examination

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster's degree meeting CACREP entry-level standards.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3.25 — Minimum 3.25 GPA for admission in good standing.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RequiredVita must show counseling licensure or at least one year of clinical counseling experience, with a commitment to obtain licensure before graduation.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
Required300-word letter of intent.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two recommendations from professionals.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
OptionalSelected applicants may be required to interview with core faculty.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredCase vignette: 3-5 page APA-formatted research paper.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredNo application fee.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
RequiredFor applicants whose native language is other than English.
Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    April 30 (initial application deadline; no year printed) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Supporting documents

    July 1 (extended material collection deadline; no year printed) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    September 30 (initial application deadline; no year printed) · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Supporting documents

    November 1 (extended material collection deadline; no year printed) · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Ed.S. and Doctorate programs, online, full-time per credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$630per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$37,800 = 60 credits × $630 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online students — Ed.S. and Doctorate programs, online, part-time per credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$695per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$41,700 = 60 credits × $695 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $37,800 (60 credits × $630 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Ed.S. and Doctorate programs, online, full-time per credit hour, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • Graduate Student Assistant (GSA) positions AssistantshipCompetitive

    Stipends are granted annually; 20 hours per week.

    Eligibility: Qualified students, when positions are available.

    Source: liberty.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Counselor Education and Supervision · Degree: Ph.D.Accredited since May 12, 2016 · current cycle ends March 31, 2032 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Virginia.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.liberty.edu/graduate/colleges-schools/behavioral-sciences/licensure-programs/counselor-educa — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  4. liberty.edu/behavioral-sciences/counselor-ed/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. liberty.edu/behavioral-sciences/counselor-ed/wp-content/uploads/sites/43/PhD-CES-Handbook.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. liberty.edu/online/behavioral-sciences/doctoral/phd-counselor-education-and-supervision/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. liberty.edu/online/exclusions/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. liberty.edu/online/tuition-and-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Regent University logo

Regent University

Ph.D. in Counselor Education & Supervision

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education & Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Virginia Beach, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 66 credits
Tuition: $995 per credit · All students — Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education & Supervision, full-time · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $65,670 (66 credits × $995 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 16, 2026 · Summer 2027
View Program

University of the Cumberlands

Online Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision

Awarded degree: Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Williamsburg, KYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: Length not published · 66 credits
Tuition: $449 per credit · Online students — Graduate - Counseling Programs (Clinical Mental Health & CES), online, per credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $29,634 (66 credits × $449 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Adams State University logo

Adams State University

Ph.D. in Counselor Education & Supervision

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Alamosa, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency, orientation; fieldwork requirements not published
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $647 per credit · All students — PHD in Counseling: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,820 (60 credits × $647 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Liberty University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.