Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Adams State University logo

Adams State University · School of Counselor Education

M.A. in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit online M.A. in Counseling with a clinical mental health counseling specialty, delivered by cohort with two required one-week labs on the Alamosa campus; practicum and internship are completed in the student's local community.

Official program name
M.A. in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counseling
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Alamosa, COWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60-hour program
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
5 semesters for fall cohorts (12 credits per semester); 7 semesters for spring cohorts (9 credits per semester) (cohort plan of study)
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counseling with a clinical mental health counseling specialty.

Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    Two one-week in-semester lab residencies on campus, tied to Pre-Practicum and Practicum courses

    twice during the program · Alamosa, CO

    Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredPracticum completed locally
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredInternship completed locally
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Practicum and internship in the student's local community
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
Supervisor in the student's local community for weekly meetings
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • Applicants intending the dual specialty (Clinical Mental Health and School Counseling) apply to the School Counseling program only.
    Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited institution
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
Not verifiedApplicants below a 2.75 cumulative GPA from the last conferred degree provide an explanatory letter
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredShort essay questions (200-300 words each) within the online application
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two online recommendation forms from professional sources
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$30 — $30 non-refundable application fee
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredAll official transcripts
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
Not verifiedThe School of Counselor Education does not accept international students; US citizens working abroad considered case by case
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Miller Analogies Test (MAT)
Not required
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    October 28, 2026 · for Spring 2027 · MT

    Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident OnlineFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$545per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$32,700 = 60 credits × $545 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $32,700 (60 credits × $545 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Technology Fee
$17.80 per creditMandatory
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Matriculation Fee, off-campus/online (one-time)
$100Mandatory
Source: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since July 15, 2009 · current cycle ends March 31, 2028 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Adams State programs, including online programs, leading to professional licensure (e.g. Nursing, Teacher Education, and Counselor Education) may only accept students living in certain states. Official pageSource: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureThe MA in Counseling does not automatically lead to licensure. Students are responsible for reviewing their individual states' licensure rules and regulations. Official disclosureSource: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureUpon completion of the MA program, the student has met one of the three requirements necessary to become a Licensed Professional Counselor in Colorado. Official disclosureSource: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureStudents outside Colorado in licensure programs whose program does not meet their home state's requirements must sign an attestation. Official disclosureSource: adams.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. adams.edu/academics/graduate/counselor-education/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. adams.edu/academics/graduate/counselor-education/masters/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. adams.edu/academics/graduate/counselor-education/masters/ceonlineabout/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. adams.edu/academics/graduate/counselor-education/masters/clinical-mental-health/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. adams.edu/academics/graduate/counselor-education/masters/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. adams.edu/administration/business/tuition-information/graduate/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. adams.edu/admissions/graduate/counselor-ed-phd/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. adams.edu/admissions/graduate/counselor-education-ma/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. adams.edu/online/professional-licensure/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  11. adams.edu/online/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  12. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Colorado first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Adams State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.