Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Western New Mexico University logo

Western New Mexico University · Department of Counseling, College of Education

Master of Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (CMHC)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit, three-year online Master of Counseling with a clinical mental health counseling specialty, taught through synchronous (Zoom) and asynchronous (Canvas) courses; students follow a Fall or Spring course sequence.

Official program name
Master of Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (CMHC)
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counseling
Source: admissions.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: admissions.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Silver City, NMWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit
Source: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
three-year program
Source: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master of Counseling, clinical mental health counseling specialty.

Source: admissions.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether residencies, intensives or other campus visits are required. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Not verifiedPracticum; application required before registration
Source: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Not verifiedInternship; application required before registration
Source: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Counseling Program Affiliate Agreement and WNMU Supervision Agreement attached to the practicum/internship application
Source: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • COUN 584 Telemental Health Counseling (0 credit, Board Certified-TeleMental Health training) offered to all Counseling Program students at no cost
    Source: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Graduate Division: applicants below a 2.75 GPA enter as non-degree students
Source: admissions.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$40 — New graduate applicants $40
Source: admissions.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts showing the award of a bachelor's degree from a CHEA-recognized accredited institution
Source: admissions.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate resident, 9 credit hours per semester, Fall 2026/Spring 2027 (tuition & fees $3,095.64 + online fee $360.00)From the university's online tuition table$3,455.64per semester · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: online.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate non-resident, 9 credit hours per semester, Fall 2026/Spring 2027 (tuition & fees $5,481.45 + online fee $360.00)From the university's online tuition table$5,841.45per semester · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: online.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — Graduate resident, 3 credit hours per semester (tuition & fees + online fee)From the university's online tuition table$1,151.88per semester · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: online.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate non-resident, 3 credit hours per semester (tuition & fees + online fee)From the university's online tuition table$1,432.74per semester · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: online.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Online course fee (graduate)
$40 per creditMandatory
Source: online.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Follett Access Book Fee
$26.66 per creditMandatory
Source: businessaffairs.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since February 6, 2023 · current cycle ends April 30, 2033 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Out-of-state online students must contact the appropriate state licensing board(s) in their state of residence to determine if the program leads to professional licensure. Official pageSource: online.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureChoosing the Clinical Mental Health Counseling specialty will help you become eligible to be licensed in the state of New Mexico as a Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHCz). Official disclosureSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureThose attending the program remotely from other states may also be able to obtain licensure within the state in which they reside. Consultation with your state's licensing board is required. Official disclosureSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckySchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseySchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoMeets (as stated by the school)Curriculum has been determined to meet licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinSchool has not determinedCurriculum has not been determined whether it meets licensing regulationsSource: coe.wnmu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. admissions.wnmu.edu/graduate/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. businessaffairs.wnmu.edu/cashier-services/cashiers-office-students/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. coe.wnmu.edu/Counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.wnmu.edu/stateauth/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. online.wnmu.edu/tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  7. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in New Mexico first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Western New Mexico University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.