Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks · Counseling Department, School of Education

School Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (School Counseling concentration: Elementary, Secondary or K-12)

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework

Overview

A 60-credit M.Ed. in Counseling concentration in school counseling, offered as elementary, secondary or K-12 concentrations. Coursework is digitally delivered; field practicum and internships take place in person in school settings.

Official program name
School Counseling (M.Ed.)
Awarded degree
Master of Education in Counseling (School Counseling concentration: Elementary, Secondary or K-12)
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Fairbanks, AKWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page))
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Elementary, secondary and K-12 school counseling are separate concentrations of the same degree (K-12 adds an internship); combined clinical mental health and school counseling concentrations (60-72 credits) also exist.

Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counseling, school counseling concentration (elementary, secondary or K-12).

Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
No required campus attendance for coursework (stated)
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Not verified

    The catalog notes that the Field Practicum course (COUN F635) requires an in-person residency component; location and length are not stated.

    Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredCOUN F635 Field Practicum (3 credits), the first external training placement.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredCOUN F636 Internship I and COUN F686 Internship II (K-12 concentration adds COUN F687 Internship III).
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Field placements in elementary schools (elementary concentration) or secondary schools (secondary concentration); K-12 students place in both settings.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Practicum and internship experiences are in person (unless restrictions necessitate telehealth).
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Internships can almost always be arranged in the student's home community.
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
FBI national-level criminal background check before seeing clients in COUN F634P or COUN F635.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree, preferably in a human service area.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of 3.0 or higher in the undergraduate degree.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of academic goals.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/curriculum vitae.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredInterview with the counseling faculty.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredGRE scores are neither required nor considered.
Source: catalog.uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    February 10 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    October 15 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level)$577per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$34,620 = 60 credits × $577 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Non-resident, graduate level (600-level)$1,201per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$72,060 = 60 credits × $1,201 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Non-resident, graduate level (600-level), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Consolidated fee (AY 2025-26)
$56 per creditMandatory
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UA Infrastructure fee (AY 2025-26)
$19 per creditMandatory
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Practicum/Internship fees, $75-$150 per class
$75 per courseMandatory
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision Assist Subscription (COUN 617P)
$200Mandatory
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Matriculation fee, one-time for newly admitted students
$225 entire programMandatory
Source: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.Ed.Accredited since July 12, 2016 · current cycle ends April 30, 2034 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • UAF can only admit students to professional licensure programs who are located in states where it meets the educational requirements for licensure. Official pageSource: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • UAF is authorized to offer distance education in most states under SARA; it can only admit students to professional licensure programs who are located in states where it meets the educational requirements for licensure. Official pageSource: uaf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.uaf.edu/academic-departments/counseling/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.uaf.edu/masters/counseling/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  5. uaf.edu/academics/programs/masters/school-counseling.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. uaf.edu/provost/uaf-state-authorization/licensure.php — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. uaf.edu/soe/pathways/counseling.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Alaska first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Massachusetts Boston logo

University of Massachusetts Boston

Counseling MEd (School Counseling), online program

Awarded degree: Masters of Education in School Counseling (Counseling MEd)

School Counseling

Master'sMEdCACREP: not listed
Location: Boston, MASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $673 per credit · Online students — School Counseling (Online track) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $40,380 (60 credits × $673 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Adams State University logo

Adams State University

M.A. in Counseling - School Counseling (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Alamosa, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: 5 semesters for fall cohorts (12 credits per semester); 7 semesters for spring cohorts (9 credits per semester) (cohort plan of study) · 60 credits
Tuition: $545 per credit · All students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $32,700 (60 credits × $545 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 28, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Regent University logo

Regent University

M.A. in School Counseling (Online w/ Residency)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Virginia Beach, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $730 per credit · Online students — Master of Arts in School Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,800 (60 credits × $730 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Alaska Fairbanks. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.