Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
West Virginia University logo

West Virginia University · School of Education and Counseling, College of Applied Human Sciences

Online Counseling, M.S. - Emphasis in Clinical Mental Health

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit online MS in Counseling with a clinical mental health emphasis in a low-residency format: coursework online plus two required week-long immersion residencies in Morgantown, and local supervised practicum and internship. Fall and spring starts.

Official program name
Online Counseling, M.S. - Emphasis in Clinical Mental Health
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Counseling
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: catalog.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Morgantown, WVWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
17 Courses / 60 Credits
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2-4 years
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The clinical mental health emphasis is also offered in person on the Morgantown campus (separate record).

Why this program is listed

Online MS in Counseling, clinical mental health emphasis.

Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Campus requirements as published

  • Immersion Required

    Two week-long residencies (Immersion Weeks) on campus; the first in the first semester with COUN 501, the second in the spring semester with COUN 609

    twice in the program · Morgantown, WV

    Source: appliedhumansciences.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Residency Required

    Residencies occur on the WVU campus in Morgantown

    Morgantown, WV

    Source: appliedhumansciences.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Practicum: 100 approved contact hours, 40 of them direct service
Source: appliedhumansciences.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Internship: minimum of 600 contact hours (9 credit hours), at least 240 direct service hours
Source: appliedhumansciences.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Practicum and internship monitored by program faculty and qualified site supervisors
Source: appliedhumansciences.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement arrangement
Students and the program arrange placements togetherStudents take an active role in screening and selecting placements; assignments are approved by the program
Source: appliedhumansciences.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Students must purchase their own professional liability insurance
Source: appliedhumansciences.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Local, supervised practicum placements
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Online students may complete internship across two semesters
Source: appliedhumansciences.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 2.75 — Applicants below 2.75 undergraduate GPA may apply; if admitted, probationary status until 18 graduate credits with at least 3.0
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of reference
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredStructured personal interviews for final selection
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
RequiredApplication fee paid in the portal
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    February 15 (fall admissions)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    October 1 (spring admissions)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Online program cost per credit hour$764per creditEstimated tuition$45,840 = 60 credits × $764 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $45,840 (60 credits × $764 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Online program cost per credit hour, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.S.Accredited since July 17, 2023 · current cycle ends October 31, 2033 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureMS Counseling: meets educational requirements for licensure/certification in the 50 states and DC as listed; does not meet in American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands Official disclosureSource: accreditation.wvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. accreditation.wvu.edu/professional-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. accreditation.wvu.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. appliedhumansciences.wvu.edu/files/d/481d7914-a40f-4e82-bff0-3f76c80047fe/2026-27_student-handbook-m — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. appliedhumansciences.wvu.edu/files/d/b88342a7-b5dc-48ef-9c8b-dbfbffbb5908/2025-field-work-manual.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. catalog.wvu.edu/graduate/collegeofappliedhumansciences/schoolofeducationandcounseling/counseling/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  6. online.wvu.edu/programs/masters-degrees/counseling-ms-emphasis-in-clinical-mental-health — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  8. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  9. wvu.edu/academics/programs/counseling-ms — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in West Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with West Virginia University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.