Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Bradley University logo

Bradley University · Department of Counseling

Online Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

An online, part-time Master of Arts in Counseling with a clinical mental health counseling concentration (60 credits), with synchronous coursework in the second half and in-person practicum and internship at approved sites in the student's state.

Official program name
Online Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counseling
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Peoria, ILWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hours, including one practicum and two internships
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
approximately three years (part-time)
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online Master of Arts in Counseling, Clinical Mental Health Counseling concentration.

Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

The pages we checked do not say whether residencies, intensives or other campus visits are required. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Practicum of at least 100 clock hours, 40 direct service
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Internship of 600 clock hours, 240 direct service
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Practicum and internship sites must be in the state where the student resides; in person at approved sites
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesStudents find their own site; Bradley reviews and approves all sites
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
Bradley provides guidelines, resources and support to identify and secure local sites
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Practicum and internship take place in person at approved sites
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

Comprehensive examination

  • Pass each of the eight core areas of the Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Exam
    Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 on a 4.0 scale in the last 60 semester hours for unconditional admission
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of interest
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredVirtual interview
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$40 — Non-refundable $40 application fee
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts
Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
Not requiredApplicants requiring visa sponsorship may not apply to online programs
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
WaivedGRE or MAT score required only if the Graduate Admission GPA evaluation is less than 3.0
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Miller Analogies Test (MAT)
WaivedGRE or MAT score required only if the Graduate Admission GPA evaluation is less than 3.0
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate Programs (applies to on-campus and online programs)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,158per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$69,480 = 60 credits × $1,158 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $69,480 (60 credits × $1,158 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate Programs (applies to on-campus and online programs), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since January 9, 2014 · current cycle ends October 31, 2031 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Online applicants outside Illinois should confirm Bradley has permission to offer online courses in their state. Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Bradley University is a SARA-approved institution; state laws may limit online offerings outside Illinois. Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureStudents who reside outside Illinois must check their state's credentialing requirements. Official disclosureSource: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureStudents completing the online program are responsible for understanding the regulations in the state where they intend to practice. Source: onlinedegrees.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.bradley.edu/graduate/education-health-sciences/education-counseling-leadership/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.bradley.edu/graduate/programs/master-arts-counseling-clinical-mental-health-counseling/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. onlinedegrees.bradley.edu/counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. onlinedegrees.bradley.edu/counseling/masters-clinical-mental-health-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. bradley.edu/academics/departments/counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. bradley.edu/admissions/graduate/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. bradley.edu/admissions/tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. bradley.edu/wp-content/uploads/Counseling-Program-Student-Handbook-2026-2027.docx.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Illinois first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Northwestern University logo

Northwestern University

Counseling@Northwestern – Online Master of Arts in Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Evanston, ILSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus immersion; practicum and internship required in person200 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: as few as 18 months full time or 36 months part time (full-time (18 months); part-time (36 months)) · 24 credits
Tuition: $5,915 per course · Online students — Online Tuition, Counseling · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 26, 2026 · Winter 2027 (January 2027)
View Program
Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Bradley University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.