Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Bradley University logo

Bradley University · Department of Counseling

Professional School Counseling (MA)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-61 credit Master of Arts in Counseling with a professional school counseling concentration, offered on campus, aligned with the Illinois Professional Educator License for school counselors.

Official program name
Professional School Counseling (MA)
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counseling
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Peoria, IL
Required credits
60 hours (teachers) or 61 hours (non-teachers)
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The same degree is also delivered online through Bradley University Online (separate record).

Why this program is listed

Master of Arts in Counseling, Professional School Counseling concentration (campus).

Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Practicum of at least 100 clock hours, 40 direct service
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Internship of 600 clock hours, 240 direct service, over two semesters
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesStudents are responsible for finding a site; applies to campus-based and online students
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
At least one hour per week of individual site supervision plus 1.5 hours per week of university group supervision
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Supervised practicums and internships in PreK-12 settings
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • Non-teachers complete 61 hours, including coursework required by the Illinois State Board of Education
    Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Last-60-hour undergraduate GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale for unconditional admission; conditional admission with 2.75 cumulative
Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three professional and/or academic references, one from a current supervisor
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredOnline group interview
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
WaivedGRE or MAT score required only if the Graduate Admission GPA evaluation is less than 3.0
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Miller Analogies Test (MAT)
WaivedGRE or MAT score required only if the Graduate Admission GPA evaluation is less than 3.0
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    Fall (Domestic students, SEVIS transfer) June 15 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    Spring (Domestic students, SEVIS transfer) November 1 · for Spring 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • International applicantsInternational applicants

    Fall (International students without a SEVIS record) April 15 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate ProgramsFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,158per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$69,480 = 60 credits × $1,158 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $69,480 (60 credits × $1,158 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate Programs, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

University Fees (graduate)
$880Mandatory
Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since September 1, 1990 · current cycle ends October 31, 2031 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Bradley University is a SARA-approved institution; state laws may limit online offerings outside Illinois. Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationProfessional School Counseling concentration meets requirements for the Illinois Professional Educator License (School Counselor). Source: catalog.bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • School counselor certificationLicensure as a professional school counselor in Illinois requires passing the ILTS School Counselor content test. Source: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureStudents who reside outside Illinois must check their state's credentialing requirements. Official disclosureSource: bradley.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.bradley.edu/graduate/education-health-sciences/education-counseling-leadership/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.bradley.edu/graduate/programs/master-arts-counseling-professional-school/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. bradley.edu/academics/departments/counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. bradley.edu/academics/programs/professional-school-counseling-ma/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. bradley.edu/admissions/graduate/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. bradley.edu/admissions/tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. bradley.edu/wp-content/uploads/Counseling-Program-Student-Handbook-2026-2027.docx.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Illinois first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Bradley University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.