Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

University of Tennessee at Martin · Department of Educational Studies

MSED: Counseling: Clinical Mental Health

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Education with a major in counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMSEd CACREP

Overview

Online MSEd in counseling with a clinical mental health specialization: 60 credit hours of asynchronous coursework, a required 3-day in-person residency, and practicum and internship courses. The page states CACREP accreditation and Tennessee LPC educational requirements.

Official program name
MSED: Counseling: Clinical Mental Health
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Education with a major in counseling
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
University of Tennessee at Martin — Department of Educational Studies
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Martin, TNWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 hours
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree (MSEd, counseling major) with a clinical mental health counseling specialization.

Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    3-day in-person residency; it includes the application for candidacy

    Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Orientation Required

    Virtual new student orientation for accepted and enrolled students (not on campus)

    Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredCOUN 785 Practicum in Counseling
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredCOUN 788 Internship in Counseling I and COUN 792 Internship in Counseling II
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredFour-question personal statement
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendations
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume describing degrees and occupational experience
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredIndividual interview with counseling faculty via video call
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
RequiredApplication fee paid before submission
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts where a degree was conferred
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredSigned acknowledgement of a 3-day on-campus residency
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    February 20 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    October 8 · for Spring 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Online courses, graduate tuition, in-state (maintenance fee $644 + online support $56 per credit hour)From the university's online tuition table$700per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$42,000 = 60 credits × $700 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Online courses, graduate tuition, out of state/internationalFrom the university's online tuition table$764per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$45,840 = 60 credits × $764 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $45,840 (60 credits × $764 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Online courses, graduate tuition, out of state/international, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Online support fee (graduate)
$56 per creditMandatory
Source: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.S.Ed.Accredited since July 13, 2022 · current cycle ends March 31, 2032 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Federal rule: no enrollment in online licensure programs whose curriculum does not meet the educational requirements of the student's state. Official pageSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • UTM operates in Tennessee and participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA). Official pageSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureCompletion of this program of study meets the Tennessee educational requirements as a Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC). Official disclosureSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureStudents outside Tennessee are responsible for ensuring the curriculum meets their state's educational requirements. Official disclosureSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaDoes not meetDoes Not MeetSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckyMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseyMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkSchool has not determinedPending ApprovalSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasDoes not meetDoes Not MeetSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
U.S. Virgin IslandsMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingMeets (as stated by the school)MeetsSource: utm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  3. utm.edu/academics/majors-and-programs/msed-counseling-clinical-mental-health — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. utm.edu/academics/majors-and-programs/msed-counseling-school — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. utm.edu/offices-and-services/licensure-information — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. utm.edu/offices-and-services/licensure-information/clinical-mental-health.php — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. utm.edu/offices-and-services/office-of-bursar/_media/2026%20-%202027%20Online%20Tuition%20and%20Fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Tennessee first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Tennessee at Martin. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.