Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University · Department of Counseling & Human Services, Darden College of Education & Professional Studies

Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Master's Program (online, ODUGlobal)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Education (Counseling with a Concentration in Clinical Mental Health Counseling)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMSEd CACREP

Overview

The fully online format of ODU's 60-credit MSEd in counseling with a clinical mental health concentration, taught in 8-week terms that are primarily asynchronous with some synchronous elements. Practicum and internship (700 hours in total) can be completed in the student's local area at sites approved by the clinical coordinator.

Official program name
Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Master's Program (online, ODUGlobal)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Education (Counseling with a Concentration in Clinical Mental Health Counseling)
Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Norfolk, VAWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
minimum of 60 semester credits
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Same degree as the in-person CMHC concentration; in general, in-person and online students should not take classes outside the delivery system to which they were admitted.

Why this program is listed

Online MSEd in counseling, clinical mental health counseling concentration.

Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether residencies, intensives or other campus visits are required. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Practicum in Counseling (100 hrs minimum)
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Internship in Mental Health Counseling (600 hrs minimum)
Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Other fieldwork requirement
700 hours of supervised fieldwork across a three-semester capstone experience
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Online students may complete practicum and internship in their local areas, pending site approval by the clinical coordinator
Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
Faculty can help identify field placements in the student's area of residence
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement arrangement
Students secure their own placement sitesBoth mental health and school counseling trainees complete practicum in mental health settings and are responsible for securing those sites
Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Trainees must secure and maintain professional liability (malpractice) insurance throughout fieldwork
Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

  • Multiple-choice comprehensive examination covering the 8 core counseling areas
    Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredOriginal double-spaced 500-word essay
Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume listing information as if applying for a counselor job
Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all universities attended
Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — ODUGlobal program page, in-state Virginia residents per credit hour ($510 standard + $162 mandatory auxiliary), effective Fall 2026$672per creditIncludes feesEstimated tuition$40,320 = 60 credits × $672 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — ODUGlobal program page, out-of-state students per credit hour, effective Fall 2026$662per creditEstimated tuition$39,720 = 60 credits × $662 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $39,720 (60 credits × $662 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — ODUGlobal program page, out-of-state students per credit hour, effective Fall 2026, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.S.Ed.Accredited since July 10, 2007 · current cycle ends March 31, 2028 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Virginia.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureHelps graduates meet the educational requirements to pursue the LPC credential in Virginia; students seeking licensure elsewhere should check their state's requirements. Official disclosureSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)VA: yesSource: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.odu.edu/graduate/education/counseling-human-services/counseling-clinical-mental-health-msed/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.odu.edu/academics/programs/counseling-clinical-mental-health — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  5. odu.edu/about-us/state-authorization-licensure/licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. odu.edu/counseling-human-services/academics/admission-requirements — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. odu.edu/counseling-human-services/academics/counseling/msed-in-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. odu.edu/sites/default/files/2026/documents/2026-2027-msed-fieldwork-handbook.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Regent University logo

Regent University

M.A. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online w/ Residency)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Virginia Beach, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $730 per credit · Online students — Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,800 (60 credits × $730 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

MA in Clinical Mental Health Counseling Degree Online

Awarded degree: Master of Arts (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Lynchburg, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · Online students — Master's programs, online, full-time per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $36,000 (60 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

William & Mary

Military and Veterans Counseling (MVC) specialization, Online M.Ed. in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health Counseling concentration)

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Military and Veterans Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Williamsburg, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: as few as three years (60 credit hours) · 60 credits
Tuition: $825 per credit · All students — Online M.Ed. in Counseling · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $49,500 (60 credits × $825 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Old Dominion University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.