Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

Winthrop University · Counseling and Development Program

Online M.Ed. in Counseling and Development in Clinical Mental Health

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework

Overview

A 60-credit online M.Ed. in Counseling and Development with a clinical mental health concentration, studied full time in a cohort over 7 semesters with no campus visits required; practicums and a 600-hour internship are completed at approved field sites.

Official program name
Online M.Ed. in Counseling and Development in Clinical Mental Health
Awarded degree
Master of Education in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Rock Hill, SCWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
3 years (7 semesters) (full-time)
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Summer
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online master's degree in counseling, clinical mental health concentration.

Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
No required campus attendance for coursework (stated)
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required75 hours. CSDV 610A Counseling Practicum I: supervised 75 clock hours, field-based
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Practicum
Required100 hours. CSDV 610B Counseling Practicum II: supervised 100 clock hours, field-based (minimum 40 direct service hours)
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Minimum of 600 clock hours over two semesters (300 hours in each internship)
Source: winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Other fieldwork requirement
Proof of liability insurance is required before seeing clients.
Source: winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement arrangement
Students and the program arrange placements togetherStudents explore placement options early with their student services coordinator and collaborate with the field placement coordinator to identify suitable sites; internship settings require approval.
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision
Synchronous supervision meetings set by the instructor during practicum and internship
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Online students who live in Rock Hill and the nearby Charlotte area may complete practicum and internship in the Winthrop Community Counseling Clinic.
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • The online degree is described as equivalent to the on-campus program; outcomes and much of the faculty are the same.
    Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale; if under 3.0, additional items may be required
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredBrief statement of purpose (up to two pages)
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required1 letters — One professional recommendation
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredVirtual, graded interview with the graduate program director and/or designated faculty
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Background check
RequiredBackground check through SR&I
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — One-time application fee of $50
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all institutions attended
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Miller Analogies Test (MAT)
Not required
Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students$699per creditEstimated tuition$41,940 = 60 credits × $699 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online students — Total tuition$41,940entire programSource: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online students — 100% Online Degree Program: Master & Doctoral Online Degree Programs (tuition + technology fee)From the university's online tuition table$699per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$41,940 = 60 credits × $699 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $41,940 (published program total)

Comparison basis: Online students — Total tuition, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.Ed.Accredited since January 7, 2015 · current cycle ends October 31, 2033 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside South Carolina.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureRequirements for professional licensure in counseling vary from state to state; Winthrop is unable to determine whether the program leads to licensure in other states. Official disclosureSource: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. online.winthrop.edu/online-programs/med-master-counseling-development/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.winthrop.edu/online-programs/med-master-counseling-development/clinical-mental-health/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.winthrop.edu/online-programs/med-master-counseling-development/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.winthrop.edu/online-programs/med-master-counseling-development/field-experience/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  7. winthrop.edu/graduateschool/master-of-education-in-counseling-and-development.aspx — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. winthrop.edu/student-account-services/fees-for-fall-and-spring.aspx — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. winthrop.edu/uploadedFiles/ceshs/CSDV/handbooks/csdv-fieldhandbook-24-25.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in South Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Alaska Fairbanks logo

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health concentration)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Fairbanks, AKSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required
Duration: Part-time, 4 years (12 semesters) (part-time (cost-estimate scenario on the department page)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $577 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $72,060 (60 credits × $1,201 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center logo

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: 2 years estimated time to completion · 60 credits
Tuition: $579 per credit · Online students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,740 (60 credits × $579 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: May 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Winthrop University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.