Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Winthrop University campus — Panoramic photograph of the disc golf courses at Winthrop University . This is basket #17 on both the Lakefront and Gold
Panoramic photograph of the disc golf courses at Winthrop University . This is basket #17 on both the Lakefront and Gold courses.. Campus photograph of Winthrop University. · Photo: Fife Club · CC BY-SA 3.0 · source

Winthrop University

Rock Hill, SCPublic SACSCOCOfficial website

Winthrop University offers a 60-credit M.Ed. in Counseling and Development with clinical mental health counseling and school counseling concentrations, both on campus in Rock Hill and online, with two practicums and a 600-hour internship.

Counseling programs at Winthrop University

4 eligible programs verified (4 master's); formats: on campus, online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

Winthrop University

M.Ed. in Counseling and Development, Clinical Mental Health Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required175 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (7 semesters) · 60 credits
Tuition: $521 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Campus-Based 12+ Credit Hours, In-State Graduate (tuition + technology + activity fee) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $60,240 (60 credits × $1,004 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Winthrop University

M.Ed. in Counseling and Development, School Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling - School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required175 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (7 semesters) · 60 credits
Tuition: $521 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Campus-Based 12+ Credit Hours, In-State Graduate (tuition + technology + activity fee) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $60,240 (60 credits × $1,004 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Winthrop University

Online M.Ed. in Counseling and Development in Clinical Mental Health

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Rock Hill, SCSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Full-time
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required175 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 3 years (7 semesters) (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $699 per credit · Online students · year not stated
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Summer 2027
View Program

Winthrop University

Online M.Ed. in Counseling and Development in School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling - School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Rock Hill, SCSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Full-time
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required175 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 3 years (7 semesters) (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $699 per credit · Online students · year not stated
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Summer 2027
View Program

Accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1923 · next review 06/01/2028

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

The university states: “Accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools” Source: online.winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • School Counseling (Graduate Certificate)Graduate certificate, not a degree.Source: winthrop.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
Winthrop University
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
701 Oakland Ave, Rock Hill, SC 29733
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
19 master's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.winthrop.edu/online-programs/med-master-counseling-development/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. winthrop.edu/graduateschool/master-of-education-in-counseling-and-development.aspx — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile