Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

William & Mary · School Psychology & Counselor Education

Online Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counseling with a concentration in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP

Overview

Online M.Ed. in counseling with a clinical mental health concentration: 60 credit hours in as few as three years, two three-day on-campus residencies, and a 100-hour practicum and 600-hour internship completed in the student's local community.

Official program name
Online Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counseling with a concentration in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counseling
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Williamsburg, VAWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
60 total credit hours
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
as few as three years (60 credit hours)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online M.Ed. in counseling, clinical mental health counseling concentration.

Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    Two three-day on-campus residencies, in the 3rd and 5th semesters; students fund their own travel

    2 · Williamsburg, VA

    Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100 clock hours at a school or clinical mental health site, about 8-10 hours per week
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600 hours over four minimesters, about 18-20 hours per week on site
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Additional 2-3 hours each week of synchronous class and supervision time with faculty
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Practicum and internship completed in the student's local community
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
Faculty advisors assist in identifying acceptable sites
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Fieldwork generally cannot be completed at the student's current place of employment
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredCompleted bachelor's degree (or equivalent)
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal essay
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume with full employment history
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Background check
RequiredAdmitted students answer criminal and disciplinary history questions before enrollment
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 application fee; waivers for service members/veterans, AmeriCorps, Peace Corps, Fulbright, McNair
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all institutions attended
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredSocial Security Number required for fieldwork placements
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 100Non-U.S. citizens; internet-based score
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 7Alternative to TOEFL for non-U.S. citizens
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 8 · for Summer 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Online M.Ed. in Counseling$825per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$49,500 = 60 credits × $825 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $49,500 (60 credits × $825 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Online M.Ed. in Counseling, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Non-refundable graduation fee
$145 entire programMandatory
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
One-time LiveText fee
$150 entire programMandatory
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
$50 entire programMandatory
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Residency fee
$150 entire programMandatory
Source: counseling.education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Supervision Assist fee (one-time, master's counseling programs)
$250 entire programMandatory
Source: education.wm.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.Ed.Accredited since January 9, 2014 · current cycle ends October 31, 2032 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. counseling.education.wm.edu/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. counseling.education.wm.edu/admissions/faqs — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. counseling.education.wm.edu/admissions/tuition-and-financial-aid — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. counseling.education.wm.edu/masters-of-ed-clinical-mental-health — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. counseling.education.wm.edu/state-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. education.wm.edu/academics/school-psychology-and-counseling/degrees/index.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. education.wm.edu/admissions/graduate/deadlines/index.php — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. education.wm.edu/admissions/graduate/tuition/index.php — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  10. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  11. wm.edu/offices/iae/state-authorization/index.php — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Master's Program (online, ODUGlobal)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Education (Counseling with a Concentration in Clinical Mental Health Counseling)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMSEd CACREP
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — ODUGlobal program page, in-state Virginia residents per credit hour ($510 standard + $162 mandatory auxiliary), effective Fall 2026 · year not statedEst. total tuition $39,720 (60 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Regent University logo

Regent University

M.A. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online w/ Residency)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Virginia Beach, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $730 per credit · Online students — Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,800 (60 credits × $730 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

MA in Clinical Mental Health Counseling Degree Online

Awarded degree: Master of Arts (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Lynchburg, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · Online students — Master's programs, online, full-time per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $36,000 (60 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with William & Mary. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.