Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University · College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Online Bachelor’s Degree in Counseling: Substance Use Disorder Emphasis

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Counseling with an Emphasis in Addiction, Chemical Dependency, and Substance Abuse

Addiction Counseling

Bachelor'sBSCACREP: not listedFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Overview

A 120-credit online B.S. in Counseling with an addiction emphasis, taught in 7-week courses at $490 per credit, with up to 90 transfer credits accepted.

Official program name
Online Bachelor’s Degree in Counseling: Substance Use Disorder Emphasis
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Counseling with an Emphasis in Addiction, Chemical Dependency, and Substance Abuse
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Counseling specialty
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Undergraduate preparationA bachelor's degree. It does not by itself qualify anyone for independent clinical practice; professional counselor licensure requires a graduate degree.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Phoenix, AZWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
Degree Requirements 120 credits
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. High school graduate, 16+ years old, 2.8+ unweighted GPA (or 2.5+ with ACT 19 / SAT 1000).Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Up to 90 transfer credits, only 84 lower division.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

A bachelor's degree in counseling is undergraduate preparation. It does not by itself qualify anyone for independent clinical practice; professional counselor licensure requires a graduate degree, supervised experience and an examination.

Why this program is listed

Bachelor's degree whose official title names counseling (B.S. in Counseling, addiction emphasis).

Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Campus attendance: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether residencies, intensives or other campus visits are required. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.

Practicum and internship requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.8 — 2.8+ unweighted GPA, or 2.5+ with ACT 19 / SAT 1000.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
OptionalACT 19 or SAT 1000 is an alternative route for applicants with a 2.5+ GPA instead of 2.8+.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Online$490per creditEstimated tuition$58,800 = 120 credits × $490 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $58,800 (120 credits × $490 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Online, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureSome states may require a master's degree, clinical experience hours and a licensure exam in addition to an undergraduate counseling degree. Official disclosureSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
American SamoaDoes not meetDoes Not MeetSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - Approved by the State (Licensed Substance Abuse Technician (LSAT))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certify (Licensed Associate Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselor (LAADAC))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - Approved by the StateSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutDoes not meetDoes Not Meet (Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LADC))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - Approved by the StateSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GuamDoes not meetDoes Not MeetSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiDoes not meetDoes Not MeetSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisDoes not meetDoes Not MeetSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaDoes not meetDoes Not Meet (Addiction Counselor Associate (LACA))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaDoes not meetDoes Not MeetSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasDoes not meetDoes Not Meet (Licensed Addiction Counselor (LAC))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckyMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certify (Licensed Alcohol & Drug Counselor (LADC))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandDoes not meetDoes Not MeetSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certify (Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor II (LADCII))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaDoes not meetDoes Not Meet (Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LADC))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certify (Licensed Addiction Counselor Candidate (LAC Candidate))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaDoes not meetDoes Not Meet (Provisional Alcohol and Drug Counselor)Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certify (Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LADC))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseyMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certify (Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor (LADAC))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certify (Licensed Addiction Counselor (LAC))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Northern Mariana IslandsDoes not meetDoes Not Meet (Certified Addiction Counselor (Level II/NCAC II))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certify (Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor III (LCDC III))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoDoes not meetDoes Not MeetSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certify (Licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor II (LADAC II))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certify (Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor Intern (LCDCI))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
U.S. Virgin IslandsDoes not meetDoes Not Meet (Licensed Substance Abuse Counselor (LSAC))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahDoes not meetDoes Not Meet (Substance Use Disorder Counselor (SUDC))Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - Approved by the StateSource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingMeets (as stated by the school)Meets - May directly certifySource: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. gcu.edu/academics/accreditation/state-authorizations-sara — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. gcu.edu/degree-programs/bachelor-science-addiction-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. gcu.edu/degree-programs/bachelor-science-addiction-counseling/accreditation — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Arizona first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Indiana Wesleyan University logo

Indiana Wesleyan University

Bachelor of Science in Addictions Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Bachelor'sBSCACREP: not listedDegree completion
Location: Marion, INSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum required350 practicum hours (as published)
Duration: as little as two years (one course at a time) · 120 credits
Tuition: $405 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,600 (120 credits × $405 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Grand Canyon University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.