Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Grand Canyon University logo

Grand Canyon University · College of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD in Counselor Education and Supervision

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhDCACREP: not listedFunding not verified

Overview

A 65-credit online Ph.D. (qualitative research version) at $760 per credit with in-person residencies tied to dissertation development, a 150-hour practicum and advanced internships in teaching and supervision.

Official program name
PhD in Counselor Education and Supervision
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education and Supervision
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — research doctorate (phd)
Counseling specialty
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Counselor education and supervisionDoctoral preparation for counselor educators, supervisors and researchers. It does not replace entry-level counselor preparation.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Phoenix, AZWhere the school is located. Coursework is online; this is not a residency requirement, does not decide whether you may enroll from your state, and is not where you complete practicum or internship.
Required credits
Credits: 65
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

GCU also lists a quantitative research version of this Ph.D. and a separate 26-credit bridge program for master's-level professionals who need to meet the Ph.D. entry qualifications; only the qualitative version is recorded here.

Why this program is listed

Doctorate in counselor education and supervision.

Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Coursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Required campus residencies or visits
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Campus requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    In-person residencies (e.g., RSD-851 Residency: Dissertation; RSD-883 Residency: The Qualitative Dissertation).

    Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required150 hours. Counselor Education and Supervision Practicum (PCE-905): minimum 150 hours of advanced counseling experience.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredAdvanced Internships I (Teaching), II (Supervision) and III.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • A required dissertation concludes the program.
    Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster's degree from an institutionally accredited school with an approved GPA.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredCurrent mental health license (independent or associate level), a mental health specialty certification, or a master's degree in a CACREP-approved (or equivalent) program.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Online$760per creditEstimated tuition$49,400 = 65 credits × $760 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $49,400 (65 credits × $760 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Online, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • Alumni Doctoral Degree Scholarship ScholarshipCompetitive

    $5,000

    Eligibility: GCU alumni enrolling in a doctoral program for the first time.

    Source: gcu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. gcu.edu/academics/accreditation/state-authorizations-sara — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. gcu.edu/degree-programs/bachelor-science-addiction-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. gcu.edu/degree-programs/phd-counselor-education-supervision-qualitative — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Arizona first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of the Cumberlands

Online Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision

Awarded degree: Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Williamsburg, KYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: Length not published · 66 credits
Tuition: $449 per credit · Online students — Graduate - Counseling Programs (Clinical Mental Health & CES), online, per credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $29,634 (66 credits × $449 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Adams State University logo

Adams State University

Ph.D. in Counselor Education & Supervision

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Alamosa, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency, orientation; fieldwork requirements not published
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $647 per credit · All students — PHD in Counseling: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,820 (60 credits × $647 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View Program
Regent University logo

Regent University

Ph.D. in Counselor Education & Supervision

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education & Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Virginia Beach, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person
Duration: Length not published · 66 credits
Tuition: $995 per credit · All students — Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education & Supervision, full-time · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $65,670 (66 credits × $995 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 16, 2026 · Summer 2027
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Grand Canyon University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.