Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

Hazelden Betty Ford Graduate School · Hazelden Betty Ford Graduate School

Master's in Counseling, Specialty: Addiction Counseling Hybrid Program

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit Master of Arts in Counseling with an addiction counseling specialty, taught evenings and weekends in Center City and St. Paul, Minnesota, with additional online courses and 700 clinical internship hours.

Official program name
Master's in Counseling, Specialty: Addiction Counseling Hybrid Program
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counseling
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Center City, MN
Required credits
60-credit accredited graduate degree program
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Full-time 20-month counseling program (full-time)
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
January, May, September
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counseling with an addiction counseling specialty, hybrid format.

Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.A substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Campus attendance for coursework
Hybrid campus schedule
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026

Campus requirements as published

  • Orientation Required

    Orientation for new fall admission hybrid/on-campus students, September 1-2 (Fall 2027)

    Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Internship
Required700 hours. 700 hours of clinical internship
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Other fieldwork requirement
Clinical observation beginning in the first semester
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Internships may be at Hazelden Betty Ford treatment centers or at external sites
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
Students work with the Clinical Placement Coordinator
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree or an Alternative Admissions Pathway
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredFive writing prompts, approximately 750-1,000 words in total
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three professional references
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
OptionalAn admission interview may be requested
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial undergraduate transcript
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
OptionalInternational students may apply to the hybrid program; TOEFL/IELTS, credential evaluation, immunization records and a financial statement are required
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 80International applicants whose first language is not English: Internet-based 80 (computer-based 213, written 550); not required with a bachelor's or higher from a regionally accredited U.S. institution
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6Alternative to TOEFL
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$849per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$50,940 = 60 credits × $849 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $50,940 (60 credits × $849 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Technology Fee (per semester)
$70 per semesterMandatory
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Liability Insurance Fee
$105 per academic yearMandatory
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026
Administrative Fee (billed in final semester)
$200 entire programMandatory
Source: hazeldenbettyford.org · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Addiction Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since July 13, 2022 · current cycle ends March 31, 2032 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  3. hazeldenbettyford.org/graduate-school-addiction-studies — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. hazeldenbettyford.org/graduate-school-addiction-studies/about/accreditation — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. hazeldenbettyford.org/graduate-school-addiction-studies/about/licensure-state — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. hazeldenbettyford.org/graduate-school-addiction-studies/academic-calendar — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. hazeldenbettyford.org/graduate-school-addiction-studies/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. hazeldenbettyford.org/graduate-school-addiction-studies/admissions/apply — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. hazeldenbettyford.org/graduate-school-addiction-studies/admissions/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. hazeldenbettyford.org/graduate-school-addiction-studies/faqs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  11. hazeldenbettyford.org/graduate-school-addiction-studies/masters-addiction-counseling-advanced — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Minnesota first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Emporia State University logo

Emporia State University

Clinical Counseling - Addictions Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Emporia, KS
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Study intensity not published
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Seattle University logo

Seattle University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling, MAEd

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Addiction Counseling

Master'sMAEd CACREP
Location: Seattle, WA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $779 per credit · All students — Clinical Mental Health Counseling (per credit, 90 credits) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Central Michigan University logo

Central Michigan University

Counseling, M.A. (Mt. Pleasant hybrid) - Addiction Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Addiction Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Study intensity not published
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2.5 years full-time; 3.5 years part-time (full-time, year-round coursework) · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,062 per credit · International — Graduate tuition rates, Master's/Specialist, International tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Hazelden Betty Ford Graduate School. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.