Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

University of North Carolina at Greensboro · Department of Counseling and Educational Development (CED)

Master's in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit-hour M.S. in Counseling concentration taught in person on the Greensboro campus on a full-time daytime schedule, with practicum work in the department's on-campus clinic and a 600-hour internship.

Official program name
Master's in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Counseling
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: soe.uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Greensboro, NC
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: catalog.uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2-year full-time program (full-time)
Source: catalog.uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

M.S. in Counseling, Clinical Mental Health Counseling concentration.

Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required3 credits of advanced counseling practicum and 3 credits of field practicum, plus practicum experiences across the curriculum
Source: catalog.uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600-hour internship in community settings
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Clinical supervision throughout practicum and internship
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Early clinical work in the on-campus Nicholas A. Vacc Counseling and Consulting Clinic before community internships
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Capstone

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredThree written statements: experience and background, ethical decision making, personal statement
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two professional letters of recommendation, at least one academic
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or curriculum vitae
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredSelected applicants interview early in the spring semester; participation is required
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUndergraduate and, if applicable, graduate transcripts
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredApplicants with an undergraduate GPA of 2.75 or below submit a statement contextualizing earlier academic performance
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    November 15 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate annual tuition & fees, in-stateFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$8,845per academic yearIncludes feesSource: spartancentral.uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate annual tuition & fees, out-of-stateFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$24,622per academic yearIncludes feesSource: spartancentral.uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.S.Accredited since July 15, 2009 · current cycle ends April 30, 2034Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureStudents are directed to UNCG's status-by-state Licensure Reciprocity Information, searching for Counseling, MS, Clinical Mental Health Counseling Concentration. Official disclosureSource: uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • LicensureCatalog: the NCE is the first step toward NCC and North Carolina LCMHC credentials. Source: catalog.uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.uncg.edu/education/counseling-educational-development/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.uncg.edu/education/counseling-educational-development/counseling-ms/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. soe.uncg.edu/ced/ced-ms-programs/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. spartancentral.uncg.edu/tuition-billing-payments/tuition-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  7. uncg.edu/degrees/counseling-m-s-clinical-mental-health-counseling-concentration/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (On-Campus Option)

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Raleigh, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years to completion if full time (full-time, following the published sequence starting in summer) · 60 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Residents of North Carolina (per credit hour, 1 hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Wake Forest University

Master of Arts in Counseling – Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Reynolda Campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $38,650 (basis not stated by the institution) · All students — Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, Full Time Graduate Tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

William & Mary

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Two years full-time (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $606 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-State Resident, per credit hour (part-time students and summer) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $97,860 (60 credits × $1,631 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.