Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Wake Forest University campus — This picture was taken on April 27, 2006. One may notice that the windows at the top of Wait Chapel are missing. This is
This picture was taken on April 27, 2006. One may notice that the windows at the top of Wait Chapel are missing. This is due to the cleaning that Wait Chapel was undergoing before graduation in May.. Campus photograph of Wake Forest University. · Photo: Jijithecat at English Wikipedia · Public domain · source

Wake Forest University

Winston-Salem, NCPrivate nonprofit SACSCOCOfficial website

Wake Forest University's Department of Counseling offers a 60-semester-hour Master of Arts in Counseling with clinical mental health and school counseling specialties, as a full-time program on the Reynolda Campus and as a part-time online program with on-campus residencies.

Counseling programs at Wake Forest University

4 eligible programs verified (4 master's); formats: on campus, online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

Wake Forest University

Master of Arts in Counseling – Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Reynolda Campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $38,650 (basis not stated by the institution) · All students — Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, Full Time Graduate Tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Wake Forest University

Master of Arts in Counseling – School Counseling (Reynolda Campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $38,650 (basis not stated by the institution) · All students — Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, Full Time Graduate Tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Wake Forest University

Online Master of Arts in Counseling – Clinical Mental Health Track

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Winston-Salem, NCSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person185 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: three years (continuing course work in the fall, spring, and summer semesters) · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,700 per credit · Online students — Online Counseling & Human Services (per hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $102,000 (60 credits × $1,700 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program

Wake Forest University

Online Master of Arts in Counseling – School Counseling Track

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Winston-Salem, NCSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person185 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: three years (continuing course work in the fall, spring, and summer semesters) · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,700 per credit · Online students — Online Counseling & Human Services (per hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $102,000 (60 credits × $1,700 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program

Accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1921 · next review 12/01/2026

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

The university states: “Accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)” Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Master of Divinity/Master of Arts in Counseling Dual DegreeDual degree; the MA in Counseling is recorded on its own.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Undergraduate Minor in CounselingMinor, not a degree.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
Wake Forest University
Control
Private nonprofit
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
1834 Wake Forest Road, Winston-Salem, NC 27106
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
117 master's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. counseling.wfu.edu/online-counseling-degrees/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. counseling.wfu.edu/programs/counseling-graduate-program/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile