Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

Wake Forest University · Department of Counseling

Master of Arts in Counseling – School Counseling (Reynolda Campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

Full-time, on-campus 60-semester-hour MA in Counseling with a school counseling specialty, CACREP accredited through October 2034, with practicum and a second-year internship.

Official program name
Master of Arts in Counseling – School Counseling (Reynolda Campus)
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counseling
Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Winston-Salem, NC
Required credits
minimum of 60 semester hours
Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: graduate.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered as a separate part-time Online Campus program (see online record).

Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counseling, school counseling specialty.

Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredPracticum begins in the second semester of the first year
Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredInternship in the second year, average 20 hours per week
Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — 3 letters of recommendation (2 academic sources preferred)
Source: graduate.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent curriculum vitae or resume (both programs)
Source: graduate.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredRecorded personal interview by video conference
Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Background check
RequiredCriminal background check is a condition of acceptance
Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: graduate.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational applicants (on-campus program only; international applicants are not eligible for the online program)
Source: graduate.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
RequiredInternational applicants (on-campus program only; international applicants are not eligible for the online program)
Source: graduate.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duolingo English Test
RequiredInternational applicants (on-campus program only; international applicants are not eligible for the online program)
Source: graduate.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 15 (year not printed) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: graduate.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, Full Time Graduate TuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$38,650(basis not stated by the institution) · 2026-2027Source: finance.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Technology Fee (per semester, excludes on-line programs)
$75 per semesterMandatory
Source: finance.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since October 1, 1993 · current cycle ends October 31, 2034 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Alabama.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Alaska.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Arizona.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Arkansas.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in California.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Colorado.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Connecticut.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Delaware.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Florida.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Georgia.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Hawaii.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements with certain accommodations in Idaho.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Illinois.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Indiana.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Iowa.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements with certain accommodations in Kansas.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckyMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Kentucky.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements with certain accommodations in Louisiana.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Maine.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet school counseling licensure requirements in Maryland.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Massachusetts.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Michigan.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Minnesota.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Mississippi.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Missouri.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Montana.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Nebraska.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Nevada.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in New Hampshire.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseyMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in New Jersey.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in New Mexico.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements with certain accommodations in New York.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in North Carolina.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in North Dakota.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Ohio.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Oklahoma.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements with certain accommodations in Oregon.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Pennsylvania.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements certain accommodations in Puerto Rico.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Rhode Island.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in South Carolina.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in South Dakota.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Tennessee.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasDoes not meetSchool Counseling track does not meet all school counseling licensure requirements in Texas.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements with certain accommodations in Utah.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements with certain accommodations in Vermont.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements with certain accommodations in Virginia.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Washington.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Washington D.C.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in West Virginia.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Wisconsin.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingMeets (as stated by the school)School Counseling track meets school counseling licensure requirements in Wyoming.Source: counseling.wfu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. counseling.wfu.edu/about/admissions-overview/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. counseling.wfu.edu/about/financial-aid/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. counseling.wfu.edu/programs/counseling-graduate-program/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. counseling.wfu.edu/programs/online-campus-program-information/state-licensure-requirements/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. finance.wfu.edu/students-parents/sfs/tuition-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. graduate.wfu.edu/admissions-application-deadlines/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. graduate.wfu.edu/cost-financial-aid-reynolda/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  9. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Master's in Counseling - School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Greensboro, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2-year full-time program (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $8,845 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate annual tuition & fees, in-state · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

School Counseling (On-Campus Option)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Raleigh, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years to completion if full time (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Residents of North Carolina (per credit hour, 1 hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Wake Forest University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.