Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of North Carolina at Greensboro campus — The School of Music and main offices of the School of Music, Theatre and Dance at the University of North Carolina at Gr
The School of Music and main offices of the School of Music, Theatre and Dance at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro in Greensboro, North Carolina.. Campus photograph of University of North Carolina at Greensboro. · Photo: Willthacheerleader18 · CC BY-SA 3.0 · source

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Greensboro, NCPublic SACSCOCOfficial website

UNC Greensboro's Department of Counseling and Educational Development offers an M.S. in Counseling with concentrations in clinical mental health, school, and couple and family counseling, and a Ph.D. in Counseling and Counselor Education. The programs are full-time and held in person on the Greensboro main campus, with admission for the fall semester only.

Counseling programs at University of North Carolina at Greensboro

4 eligible programs verified (3 master's, 1 doctoral); formats: on campus. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Master's in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Greensboro, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2-year full-time program (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $8,845 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate annual tuition & fees, in-state · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Master's in Counseling - Couple and Family Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Greensboro, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2-year full-time program (full-time) · 63 credits
Tuition: $8,845 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate annual tuition & fees, in-state · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Master's in Counseling - School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Greensboro, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2-year full-time program (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $8,845 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate annual tuition & fees, in-state · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Doctoral Programs in Counseling

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

PhD in Counseling and Counselor Education

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counseling and Counselor Education

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Greensboro, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; internship required
Duration: 3-year full-time program (full-time) · 72 credits
Tuition: $8,845 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate annual tuition & fees, in-state · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1921 · next review 12/01/2034

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Addiction TreatmentCertificate, not a degree.Source: soe.uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Mental Health in Children and AdolescentsCertificate, not a degree.Source: catalog.uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Mental Health Literacy and Wellness minorMinor, not a degree.Source: soe.uncg.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
1400 Spring Garden St, Greensboro, NC 27402-6170
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
32 master's, 1 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. catalog.uncg.edu/education/counseling-educational-development/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. soe.uncg.edu/ced/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. soe.uncg.edu/ced/ced-ms-programs/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile