Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University · Counselor Education, Department of Educational Leadership, Policy, and Human Development (ELPHD)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (On-Campus Option)

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit M.Ed. in clinical mental health counseling offered on campus in Raleigh, with a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship at North Carolina sites. Full-time and part-time study are offered.

Official program name
Clinical Mental Health Counseling (On-Campus Option)
Awarded degree
Master of Education (M.Ed.)
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Raleigh, NC
Required credits
Total Hours 60
Source: catalog.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
3 years to completion if full time (full-time, following the published sequence starting in summer)
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Summer
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered as a separate online part-time cohort option (see the online record).

Why this program is listed

Master's degree in clinical mental health counseling (campus option).

Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100-hour practicum field placement
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600-hour internship in the final year (300 hours fall, 300 hours spring)
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Practicum and internship must occur at a track-specific site in North Carolina
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement answering the application prompts, up to 5 pages
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendations
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredOnline application, resume and non-refundable application fee
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredSelected candidates are interviewed, barring significant geographical distances
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
RequiredNon-refundable application fee
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts of all post-secondary education
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Miller Analogies Test (MAT)
Not required
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational students
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Dec. 1

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Residents of North Carolina (per credit hour, 1 hour)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$585.39per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$35,123.40 = 60 credits × $585.39 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, Nonresidents of North Carolina (per credit hour, 1 hour)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,804.11per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$108,246.60 = 60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, Nonresidents of North Carolina (per credit hour, 1 hour), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Graduate required fees (1 credit hour)
$140.41 per creditMandatory
Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Degree: M.Ed./M.S.Accredited since January 12, 2011 · current cycle ends March 31, 2030 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
American SamoaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GuamDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckyDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseyDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets State Educational Requirements? YesSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Northern Mariana IslandsDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
U.S. Virgin IslandsDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingDoes not meetMeets State Educational Requirements? NoSource: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/education/clinical-mental-health-counseling/clinical-mental-health-counsel — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ced.ncsu.edu/graduate/programs/masters/clinical-mental-health-counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ced.ncsu.edu/programs/counseling-and-counselor-education-doctoral/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online-distance.ncsu.edu/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. studentservices.ncsu.edu/finances/tuition-and-fees/tuition-and-fee-rates/graduate-students/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. studentservices.ncsu.edu/resources/information-disclosures-and-reports/professional-licensure-disclo — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Wake Forest University

Master of Arts in Counseling – Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Reynolda Campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $38,650 (basis not stated by the institution) · All students — Graduate School of Arts & Sciences, Full Time Graduate Tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Master's in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Greensboro, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2-year full-time program (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $8,845 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate annual tuition & fees, in-state · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

William & Mary

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Two years full-time (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $606 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-State Resident, per credit hour (part-time students and summer) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $97,860 (60 credits × $1,631 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with North Carolina State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.