Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University · Department of Educational Leadership, Policy, and Human Development (ELPHD)

Ph.D. in Educational Leadership, Policy and Human Development, Counseling and Counselor Education Concentration

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Educational Leadership, Policy and Human Development

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified

Overview

An on-campus PhD concentration in counseling and counselor education requiring at least 60 credit hours beyond the master's, including research methods, counselor education courses, internships in supervision and teaching, and 9 dissertation credits.

Official program name
Ph.D. in Educational Leadership, Policy and Human Development, Counseling and Counselor Education Concentration
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Educational Leadership, Policy and Human Development
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — research doctorate (phd)
Counseling specialty
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Counselor education and supervisionDoctoral preparation for counselor educators, supervisors and researchers. It does not replace entry-level counselor preparation.
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Raleigh, NC
Required credits
minimum of 60 graduate credit hours beyond an approved master's degree
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

PhD concentration in counseling and counselor education; officially a concentration of the ELPHD PhD.

Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Internship
RequiredECD 847 Internship in Supervision, ECD 850 Doctoral Internship, ECD 886 Internship in Teaching
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Dissertation

Curriculum

  • Required college research methods courses (15 credits) and counselor education courses (30 credits)
    Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster's in counseling or equivalent with coursework equivalent to a 60-credit CACREP-accredited program
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement, up to 5 pages
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendations
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredOnline application, resume and non-refundable application fee
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredAll doctoral candidates are expected to be interviewed, barring significant geographical distances
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredWriting sample requested after the application is received
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Required
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational students
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Funding consideration deadline

    December 1

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Residents of North Carolina (per credit hour, 1 hour)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$585.39per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$35,123.40 = 60 credits × $585.39 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, Nonresidents of North Carolina (per credit hour, 1 hour)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,804.11per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$108,246.60 = 60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, Nonresidents of North Carolina (per credit hour, 1 hour), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Graduate required fees (1 credit hour)
$140.41 per creditMandatory
Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Separate application
Applications for consideration for funding and assistantships are due December 1
Source: ced.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Counselor Education and Supervision · Degree: Ph.D.Accredited since September 1, 1988 · current cycle ends March 31, 2030Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ced.ncsu.edu/programs/counseling-and-counselor-education-doctoral/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online-distance.ncsu.edu/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. studentservices.ncsu.edu/finances/tuition-and-fees/tuition-and-fee-rates/graduate-students/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

PhD in Counseling and Counselor Education

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counseling and Counselor Education

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Greensboro, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; internship required
Duration: 3-year full-time program (full-time) · 72 credits
Tuition: $8,845 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate annual tuition & fees, in-state · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Counselor Education and Supervision Ph.D. (PH6265)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $67,680 (60 credits × $1,128 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
The University of Alabama logo

The University of Alabama

Counselor Education and Supervision, Ph.D.

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $5,959 per semester · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, full-time (9-15 hours), resident · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with North Carolina State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.