Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

University of Central Florida · Department of Counselor Education and School Psychology, College of Community Innovation and Education

Education (PhD) - Counselor Education

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Education

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFully funded (conditions apply)

Overview

A full-time, in-person Counselor Education track in UCF's PhD in Education (69 credits beyond the master's), with 100 practicum hours, 600 internship hours, a candidacy exam and a dissertation, typically completed in three years.

Official program name
Education (PhD) - Counselor Education
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Education
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — research doctorate (phd)
Counseling specialty
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Counselor education and supervisionDoctoral preparation for counselor educators, supervisors and researchers. It does not replace entry-level counselor preparation.
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Orlando, FL
Required credits
69 credit hours minimum beyond the master's degree
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
3 Years to Graduate (full-time)
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

PhD in Education, Counselor Education track (CACREP counselor education doctorate).

Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. 100 hours of practicum experiences
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. 600 hours of internship experiences (9 credit hours)
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Dissertation

  • 15 credit hours of dissertation
    Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster's degree in counseling or a closely related field, with master's-level competency in educational research and statistics
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredGoal statement, 500-700 words
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendation letters
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or CV
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredFull-day interview with teaching demonstration and mock counseling session
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$31 — $31 application fee
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredOfficial, competitive GRE score no older than five years
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    December 1 (priority; for fellowship/assistantship consideration) · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    January 1 (regular) · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out of State Tuition$1,276.48per creditEstimated tuition$88,077.12 = 69 credits × $1,276.48 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition$369.65per creditEstimated tuition$25,505.85 = 69 credits × $369.65 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $88,077.12 (69 credits × $1,276.48 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out of State Tuition, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Fully funded — subject to published conditions

Tuition coverage and a stipend are offered to all admitted students, subject to conditions the program publishes (for example satisfactory progress).

Funding guarantee
Accepted students are offered a graduate assistantship, contingent upon funding availability
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Tuition coverage
Assistantships typically include a stipend, tuition waiver and student health insurance; students pay university fees
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Counselor Education and Supervision · Degree: Ph.D.Accredited since September 1, 2000 · current cycle ends October 31, 2030Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Licensure disclosures cite UCF's participation in SARA; UCF generally cannot enroll students physically located outside Florida in these licensure programs during their first term without an attestation. Official pageSource: apq.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. apq.ucf.edu/document/counseloredmaclinical-disclosure/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ccie.ucf.edu/cesp/academics/counseling-admission-requirements-phd/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ccie.ucf.edu/cesp/academics/counselor-education-phd/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ccie.ucf.edu/counselor-education/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  7. ucf.edu/degree/education-phd-2/counselor-education/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Florida first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Florida logo

University of Florida

On-Campus Ph.D. in Counseling (Counselor Education)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Gainesville, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required
Duration: Program Completion: 3 years
Tuition: $532.52 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Courses (5000-9999), Total Florida Resident Rate/Credit Hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Counselor Education and Supervision Ph.D. (PH6265)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $67,680 (60 credits × $1,128 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
The University of Alabama logo

The University of Alabama

Counselor Education and Supervision, Ph.D.

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $5,959 per semester · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, full-time (9-15 hours), resident · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Central Florida. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.