Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

University of Central Florida · Department of Counselor Education and School Psychology, College of Community Innovation and Education

Counselor Education (MA) - School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counselor Education

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit, in-person, full-time MA in Counselor Education with a school counseling track for students whose bachelor's degree is outside education, with a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship in a K-12 school.

Official program name
Counselor Education (MA) - School Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counselor Education
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Orlando, FL
Required credits
60 credit hours minimum beyond the bachelor's degree
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MA in Counselor Education, School Counseling track (for students without an education bachelor's).

Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: apq.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Practicum (100 total hours) in the UCF Community Counseling and Research Center
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Internship of 600 total hours, 240 direct service
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Internship in a K-12 school setting
Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Other

  • Designed for students with a bachelor's degree in a discipline other than education; includes Florida DOE-required certification courses
    Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — A strong undergraduate GPA (generally 3.0 or higher in the final 60 hours) is considered
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal goal statement, 500-700 words
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredProfessional resume
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredHalf-day on-campus small-group interview for qualified applicants; virtual option for applicants outside Florida
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$31 — $31 application fee
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all institutions attended
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    February 1 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • International applicantsInternational applicants

    January 15 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ccie.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition$369.65per creditEstimated tuition$22,179 = 60 credits × $369.65 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out of State Tuition$1,276.48per creditEstimated tuition$76,588.80 = 60 credits × $1,276.48 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $76,588.80 (60 credits × $1,276.48 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out of State Tuition, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.A./M.Ed.Accredited since May 1, 1996 · current cycle ends October 31, 2030Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • UCF generally cannot enroll students physically located outside Florida during their first term unless they attest to pursuing licensure in a state where UCF meets requirements; other states not determined. Official pageSource: apq.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Licensure disclosures cite UCF's participation in SARA; UCF generally cannot enroll students physically located outside Florida in these licensure programs during their first term without an attestation. Official pageSource: apq.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationMeets the educational requirements for certification in Guidance and Counseling (PK-12) in Florida; not determined for other states. Official disclosureSource: apq.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
FloridaMeets (as stated by the school)Meets the educational requirements for certification in Guidance and Counseling (PK-12) in FloridaSource: apq.ucf.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. apq.ucf.edu/document/counseloredmaclinical-disclosure/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. apq.ucf.edu/document/counseloredmaschoolcounseling-disclosure/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ccie.ucf.edu/cesp/academics/counseling-admission-requirements/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ccie.ucf.edu/cesp/academics/counselor-education-ma/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. ccie.ucf.edu/counselor-education/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  7. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  8. ucf.edu/degree/counselor-education-ma/school-counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Florida first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Florida logo

University of Florida

On-Campus M.Ed./Ed.S. School Counseling Track

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.) and Education Specialist (Ed.S.); Master of Arts in Education (M.A.E.) with thesis

School Counseling

Master'sMEdCACREP: not listed
Location: Gainesville, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Program Completion: 2.5 years · 72 credits
Tuition: $532.52 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Courses (5000-9999), Total Florida Resident Rate/Credit Hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $104,348.16 (72 credits × $1,449.28 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View Program
Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Central Florida. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.