Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Florida logo

University of Florida · Counselor Education Program, School of Human Development and Organizational Studies in Education (HDOSE), College of Education

On-Campus Ph.D. in Counseling (Counselor Education)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified

Overview

A full-time, on-campus PhD in counseling at Gainesville for students with a master's in counseling or a related field, with an advanced counseling practicum, a year-long counselor education internship, qualifying examinations and a dissertation.

Official program name
On-Campus Ph.D. in Counseling (Counselor Education)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — research doctorate (phd)
Counseling specialty
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Counselor education and supervisionDoctoral preparation for counselor educators, supervisors and researchers. It does not replace entry-level counselor preparation.
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Gainesville, FL
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
Program Completion: 3 years
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

On-campus PhD in counseling preparing counselor educators.

Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
RequiredSemester-long advanced counseling practicum
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
RequiredYear-long counselor education internship (teaching, supervision, research, leadership and advocacy)
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Dissertation

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster's degree from an accredited U.S. college or university or equivalent
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 upper-division (last 60 credits) GPA
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RecommendedPost-master's experience recommended but not mandatory
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement, 2-4 double-spaced pages
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$30 — $30 non-refundable application fee
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Required
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational applicants, unless exempt by prior study or degree in an English-speaking country
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    November 15 (fall semester) · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate Courses (5000-9999), Total Florida Resident Rate/Credit HourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$532.52per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: cfo.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Courses (5000-9999), Total Non-Resident Rate/Credit HourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,449.28per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: cfo.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Other
Some research and teaching assistantship funding; the number varies each year
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: Counselor Education and Supervision · Degree: Ed.D./Ph.D.Accredited since October 1, 1979 · current cycle ends March 31, 2029Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cfo.ufl.edu/student-financial-resources/current-and-former-students/2026-27-academic-year-tuition-an — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. education.ufl.edu/counselor-education/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. education.ufl.edu/counselor-education/prospective-students/on-campus-m-ed/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. education.ufl.edu/counselor-education/prospective-students/on-campus-ph-d/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. education.ufl.edu/counselor-education/prospective-students/on-campus-ph-d/application/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. education.ufl.edu/counselor-education/prospective-students/on-campus-ph-d/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  8. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Florida first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Central Florida

Education (PhD) - Counselor Education

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Education

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFully funded (conditions apply)
Location: Orlando, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 Years to Graduate (full-time) · 69 credits
Tuition: $369.65 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition · year not statedEst. total tuition $88,077.12 (69 credits × $1,276.48 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Counselor Education and Supervision Ph.D. (PH6265)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $67,680 (60 credits × $1,128 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
The University of Alabama logo

The University of Alabama

Counselor Education and Supervision, Ph.D.

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $5,959 per semester · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, full-time (9-15 hours), resident · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Florida. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.