Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Florida logo

University of Florida · Counselor Education Program, School of Human Development and Organizational Studies in Education (HDOSE), College of Education

On-Campus M.Ed./Ed.S. Mental Health Counseling Track

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.) and Education Specialist (Ed.S.); Master of Arts in Education (M.A.E.) with thesis

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEdCACREP: not listed

Overview

A 72-credit combined M.Ed./Ed.S. counselor education program on the Gainesville campus, mental health counseling track, with a 100-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship.

Official program name
On-Campus M.Ed./Ed.S. Mental Health Counseling Track
Awarded degree
Master of Education (M.Ed.) and Education Specialist (Ed.S.); Master of Arts in Education (M.A.E.) with thesis
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
Clinical counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for professional counselor licensure. Licensure itself also requires post-degree supervised experience, an examination and a state application.
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Gainesville, FL
Required credits
minimum of 72 credit hours (combined M.Ed./Ed.S.)
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Program Completion: 2.5 years
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Counselor preparation in mental health counseling. The university awards the master's together with an Education Specialist degree in one combined program (shown as such on this profile); it is listed as a master's-level counseling program because the counseling master's is part of the award.

Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. Practicum of at least 100 clock hours over a semester, including 40 direct service hours
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Internship of 600 clock hours, at least 240 direct client service
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement arrangement
Students and the program arrange placements togetherSite selection is a collaborative process between the student and the Field Experience and Internship team
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement location
Students are encouraged to explore clinical opportunities in the Alachua County area
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
Annual Practicum and Internship Fair
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Three semesters of clinical experience: one practicum and two internship semesters
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Thesis

  • Optional master's thesis; thesis students receive the M.A.E. instead of the M.Ed.
    Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited U.S. college or university or equivalent
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 upper-division (last 60 credits) GPA
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement (up to three single-spaced pages)
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredCompleted Counselor Statement Exercise
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$30 — $30 non-refundable application fee
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational applicants only
Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    November 1, 2026 · for Fall 2027

    Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate Courses (5000-9999), Total Florida Resident Rate/Credit HourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$532.52per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$38,341.44 = 72 credits × $532.52 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cfo.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Courses (5000-9999), Total Non-Resident Rate/Credit HourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,449.28per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$104,348.16 = 72 credits × $1,449.28 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cfo.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $104,348.16 (72 credits × $1,449.28 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate Courses (5000-9999), Total Non-Resident Rate/Credit Hour, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensurePrepares students to apply for Registered Intern status; after two years of post-degree supervised experience graduates may apply for Florida mental health counselor licensure. Source: education.ufl.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cfo.ufl.edu/student-financial-resources/current-and-former-students/2026-27-academic-year-tuition-an — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. education.ufl.edu/counselor-education/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. education.ufl.edu/counselor-education/2025/04/24/practicum-and-internship-counseling-education/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. education.ufl.edu/counselor-education/prospective-students/on-campus-m-ed/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. education.ufl.edu/counselor-education/prospective-students/on-campus-m-ed/application/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. education.ufl.edu/counselor-education/prospective-students/on-campus-m-ed/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. education.ufl.edu/counselor-education/prospective-students/on-campus-m-ed/mental-health-counseling-t — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Florida first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Central Florida

Counselor Education (MA) - Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counselor Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Orlando, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 63 credits
Tuition: $369.65 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition · year not statedEst. total tuition $80,418.24 (63 credits × $1,276.48 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

William & Mary

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Two years full-time (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $606 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-State Resident, per credit hour (part-time students and summer) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $97,860 (60 credits × $1,631 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counselor Education with Clinical Mental Health Counseling Concentration

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mississippi State, MS
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Full-time students complete the program in two years, including summers (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $616.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident, total tuition and required fees per credit hour (1-8 hours), Starkville · Fall 2026 or Spring Est. total tuition $100,299 (60 credits × $1,671.65 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Florida. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.