Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Montana State University logo

Montana State University · Department of Counseling

M.Ed. in School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit, face-to-face M.Ed. in School Counseling in Bozeman that includes practicum and a 600-hour internship in a school setting. Students start in summer as a cohort.

Official program name
M.Ed. in School Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Education in School Counseling
Source: catalog.montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: catalog.montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: catalog.montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Bozeman, MT
Required credits
60 credits
Source: catalog.montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
a minimum of two years of studyA minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: catalog.montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Summer
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in school counseling.

Source: catalog.montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Internship
Required600 hours. 600-hour internship within a school setting
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Practicum
RequiredCounseling practica with close supervision
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Not published on the pages we checked. Ask who finds the practicum site, whether sites in your area are approved and how supervision works.

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or above
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
Not requiredNo required prerequisites
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal essay, no more than four typed, double-spaced pages
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of professional recommendation
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredSelected candidates are invited to interview; not all applicants receive an interview
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts for application; official transcripts before admission
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    February 1 · for Summer (mid-June) start

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate resident tuition, 1 credit, per semester (Fall 2026 / Spring 2027)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$350.95per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$21,057 = 60 credits × $350.95 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate non-resident: tuition 350.95 + non-resident additional tuition 1,025.15 + building fee 15.00 per credit (Fall 2026 / Spring 2027)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,376.10per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$82,566 = 60 credits × $1,376.10 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $82,566 (60 credits × $1,376.10 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate non-resident: tuition 350.95 + non-resident additional tuition 1,025.15 + building fee 15.00 per credit (Fall 2026 / Spring 2027), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.Ed.Accredited since September 1, 1991 · current cycle ends March 31, 2031 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationUpon completion, students are eligible to apply for certification as a school counselor with the Montana Office of Public Instruction (Class 6 specialist). Official disclosureSource: catalog.montana.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.montana.edu/graduate/education-health-human-development/counseling/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.montana.edu/graduate/education-health-human-development/counseling/counseling-program-option — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  5. montana.edu/counselingdepartment/graduate/datesdeadlines.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. montana.edu/counselingdepartment/graduate/prospectivestudents.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. montana.edu/counselingdepartment/graduate/sc.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. montana.edu/ubs/studentaccounts/TuitionFeeCharts/Current-Fall-Spring/graduate.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Montana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Montana State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.