Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

Marquette University · Department of Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology

Master's in School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMACACREP: not listed

Overview

MA in school counseling: 48 credit hours, about two years full time or three years part time, a 100-hour practicum, a 600-hour internship and the Praxis school counselor exam as the comprehensive exam. The handbook describes it as a Wisconsin DPI-approved program.

Official program name
Master's in School Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in School Counseling
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Milwaukee, WI
Required credits
48 credit hours
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Full-Time- less than two years, Part-Time- three years (full-time / part-time)
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in school counseling.

Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. One semester (3 credits) of practicum with a minimum of 100 hours of supervised on-site practicum experience
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. Minimum of 600 hours of internship, approximately 20 hours per week over 2 semesters
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Internships in mental health and educational agencies approved by the CECP Department
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other fieldwork requirement
Students obtain professional counseling liability insurance at their own expense within the first semester
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

  • Praxis Professional School Counselor (5422) as the comprehensive examination, cut score 159
    Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accelerated options

  • Early admission (bachelor's + master's in five years) for Marquette educational studies majors
    Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution or international equivalent
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA of 3.00 on a 4.00 scale (Graduate School requirement)
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/vita
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredHighest-ranking applicants are interviewed by faculty; required for admission
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Background check
RequiredBackground check completed at new student orientation
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredCopies of transcripts; official transcripts after admission
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalGeneral test only
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational applicants only; or other acceptable proof of English proficiency
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    February 1 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadlineDomestic applicants

    Rolling admission · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling
  • International applicantsInternational applicants

    Rolling admission · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Education Graduate per credit hour rateFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,080per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$51,840 = 48 credits × $1,080 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $51,840 (48 credits × $1,080 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Education Graduate per credit hour rate, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Graduate School Student Fee, traditional student (4+ credits per term)
$200 per semesterMandatory
Source: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No CACREP accreditation is matched to this program in the current CACREP directory, and no other programmatic accreditation was verified. Institutional accreditation does not imply programmatic accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationWisconsin DPI-approved program; graduates are immediately eligible for licensing as a school counselor in Wisconsin (handbook wording). Official disclosureSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
American SamoaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GuamSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisMeets (as stated by the school)Satisfies Educational RequirementsSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckySchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseySchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Northern Mariana IslandsSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
U.S. Virgin IslandsSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinMeets (as stated by the school)Satisfies Educational RequirementsSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingSchool has not determinedNo Determination MadeSource: marquette.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. marquette.edu/arts-sciences/cecp/documents/cmhc-sccn-handbook.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. marquette.edu/arts-sciences/cecp/index.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. marquette.edu/central/bursar/tuition-housing-fees-2026-27.php — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. marquette.edu/consumer-information/state-licensure.php — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. marquette.edu/grad/programs-school-counseling.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Wisconsin first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Marquette University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.