Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

Montclair State University · Counseling Department

MA in Counseling, School Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP

Overview

A 60-credit, on-campus MA concentration in school counseling grounded in the ASCA National Model, with evening, summer, full- and part-time options and three semesters of fieldwork. Students choose an electives option or a Student Assistance Coordinator certification option.

Official program name
MA in Counseling, School Counseling Concentration
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Counseling
Source: catalog.montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: catalog.montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: inside.montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Montclair, NJ
Required credits
Total Credits 60
Source: catalog.montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
most full-time students complete the degree in 2½ to 3 years (full-time)
Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MA in Counseling, school counseling concentration.

Source: catalog.montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. COUN 624 Counseling Practicum: 100 hours of direct and non-direct work at the site
Source: catalog.montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required600 hours. COUN 654 and COUN 674 Internship in Counseling I and II: 300 hours each semester
Source: catalog.montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Supervision
Weekly on-campus supervision seminars and weekly supervision with an on-site supervisor
Source: catalog.montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Comprehensive examination

Curriculum

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredEquivalent of a U.S. bachelor's degree
Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.9 — Applicants with a GPA below 2.9 will not be considered
Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume required
Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$60 — $60 non-refundable application fee (or waiver if applicable)
Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Final deadline

    February 1st · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    October 1st · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — General Master's, In-State/Out-of-State, Fall and SpringFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$962per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$57,720 = 60 credits × $962 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International — International Students (on F1 or J1 Visas in General Master's)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,077per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$64,620 = 60 credits × $1,077 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $57,720 (60 credits × $962 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — General Master's, In-State/Out-of-State, Fall and Spring, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Mandatory fees per credit (Fall and Spring)
$37.02 per creditMandatory
Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.A.Accredited since July 10, 2007 · current cycle ends October 31, 2033Source: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationQualifies graduates for New Jersey school counselor certification Source: montclair.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.montclair.edu/programs/counseling-school-counseling-ma/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.montclair.edu/search/?P=COUN%20624 — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. catalog.montclair.edu/search/?P=COUN%20674 — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  4. inside.montclair.edu/colleges-schools-research/cchl/counseling-department — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
  7. montclair.edu/academics/programs/ma-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. montclair.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-and-fees/graduate-student-costs — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in New Jersey first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Montclair State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.