Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Utah Valley University campus — Campus in the fall
Campus in the fall. Campus photograph of Utah Valley University. · Photo: uvuphotos · CC BY 2.0 · source
Utah Valley University logo

Utah Valley University

Orem, UTPublic NWCCUOfficial website

Utah Valley University offers an in-person M.S. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling through its Department of Psychology and Counseling and an M.Ed. in School Counseling through its School of Education, with in-person and online cohorts.

Counseling programs at Utah Valley University

3 eligible programs verified (3 master's); formats: on campus, online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

Utah Valley University logo

Utah Valley University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling, M.S.

Awarded degree: Master of Science

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Orem, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: five semesters when enrolled full-time (full-time with satisfactory progress) · 60 credits
Tuition: $434 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident, per credit hour (MSW/MFT/School Counseling/CMHC table) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $67,800 (60 credits × $1,130 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 9, 2026 · 2027 cohort (Summer/Fall 2027)
View Program
Utah Valley University logo

Utah Valley University

Master of Education in School Counseling, M.Ed. (In-Person cohort)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEdCACREP: not listed
Location: Orem, UT
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2-year curriculum, spanning across 6 semesters, including summers · 48 credits
Tuition: $467.46 per credit · All students — Cost of attendance per credit hour as printed on program page · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Utah Valley University logo

Utah Valley University

Master of Education in School Counseling, M.Ed. (Online cohort)

Awarded degree: Master of Education in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEdCACREP: not listed
Location: Orem, UTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework with campus intensive; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2-year curriculum, spanning across 6 semesters, including summers · 48 credits
Tuition: $467.46 per credit · All students — Cost of attendance per credit hour as printed on program page · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,438.08 (48 credits × $467.46 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since July 1, 1969 · next review 10/01/2024

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Published enrollment restrictions

State authorization rules decide whether the university can enroll you in an online program from your state. The university's location never decides it.

State authorization

  • UVU has adopted an attestation process that allows prospective students to enroll as long as they attest that they intend to seek employment in a state where the program meets educational requirements.
    Source: uvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Master of Marriage and Family TherapyStandalone MFT, outside core directory.Source: uvu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
Utah Valley University
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
800 W University Parkway, Orem, UT 84058-5999
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
22 master's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. catalog.uvu.edu/education/education-graduate-programs/school-counseling-med/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. uvu.edu/accreditation-academic-assessment/accreditation/compliance/professionallicensure.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. uvu.edu/besc/mft/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. uvu.edu/cmhc/program-information.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. uvu.edu/cmhc/prospective-students.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile

Utah Valley University Counseling Degrees (Master's)