Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
Augusta University logo

Augusta University · Department of Research, Counseling and Curriculum, College of Education and Human Development

Master of Education with a Major in Counselor Education and a Concentration in School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counselor Education

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP

Overview

A 60-hour M.Ed. in Counselor Education with a School Counseling concentration, taught mainly face-to-face in the evenings on campus. It includes a 100-hour practicum and internships of 300 clock hours per semester in K-12 schools.

Official program name
Master of Education with a Major in Counselor Education and a Concentration in School Counseling
Awarded degree
Master of Education in Counselor Education
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Counseling specialty
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional purpose
School counselor preparationThe institution states the program prepares students for school counselor certification or licensure, which state education agencies grant. It is not clinical counselor licensure.
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Augusta, GA
Required credits
school counselors (60 hour program)
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree in counselor education, school counseling concentration.

Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees whose official program is counselor preparation in a named specialty, and — separately labelled — counseling psychology. Generic psychology, education, social work and standalone MFT degrees are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and campus attendance

How coursework is delivered and whether you must come to campus for it. Practicum and internship are a separate requirement, shown in the next section. “Fully online coursework” appears only when the school says no campus attendance is required.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Practicum, internship and placements

Supervised fieldwork in a clinical, community or school setting, as the school publishes it. For online programs this happens in person, usually near where you live — whatever the coursework format.
Practicum
Required100 hours. COUN 6880 Practicum in School Counseling: clinically supervised field experience of 100 clock hours (2025-2026 catalog)
Source: catalog.augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Internship
Required300 hours. Internship I and II in School Counseling: clinically supervised internship of 300 clock hours each semester (2025-2026 catalog)
Source: catalog.augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Placement arrangements and supervision

Placement location
Practicum and internship completed in a K-12 school setting outside the university
Source: catalog.augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Placement assistance
Outside field experiences are coordinated by the faculty
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026

How practicum and internship placements work

Curriculum

Academic calendar

  • Courses are offered almost exclusively in the evenings; the majority of classes are face-to-face.
    Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

  • The program must be completed within seven years.
    Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree or equivalent from an accredited college or university
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.5 — Minimum overall GPA of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale at the baccalaureate level
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredAutobiographical essay, double-spaced, three pages
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Recommendations from three individuals
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
RequiredPersonal interview with faculty for invited applicants; final requirement for full admission
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Background check
RequiredPassing a criminal background check
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all universities and colleges attended
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredNo standardized tests are required for this program.
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredFor applicants whose first language is not English unless waived; minimum printed as 79 (prior to January 2026) / 4.5 (after January 2026).
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5For applicants whose first language is not English unless waived.
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    February 15, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — In-State, 1-11 hours$238per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$14,280 = 60 credits × $238 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Resident (in-state) — In-State, 12 or more hours$2,856per semester · 2026-2027Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-State, 1-11 hours$863per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$51,780 = 60 credits × $863 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-State, 12 or more hours$10,356per semester · 2026-2027Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International — Out-of-Country, 1-11 hours$889per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$53,340 = 60 credits × $889 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $51,780 (60 credits × $863 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-State, 1-11 hours, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Mandatory fees, per semester (total)
$675 per semesterMandatory
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee (non-refundable)
$55Mandatory
Source: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Counseling tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; programmatic accreditation (CACREP) covers only the specialty and degree it lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)Status: Accredited · Specialty: School Counseling · Degree: M.Ed.Accredited since January 22, 2005 · current cycle ends October 31, 2031 · listed by the accreditor as onlineSource: cacrep.org · verified October 11, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • School counselor certificationThe College of Education and Human Development has determined that this program will lead to teacher/leader certification in the listed states. Official disclosureSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • School counselor certificationPrograms designed to meet criteria established by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission. Official disclosureSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026

State-by-state disclosure as published

States not shown were not printed on the disclosure we checked and are not verified.

StateEducational requirementsSource
AlabamaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
AlaskaDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
American SamoaDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArizonaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ArkansasMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
CaliforniaDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ColoradoMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
ConnecticutMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
DelawareMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
FloridaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GeorgiaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
GuamDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
HawaiiDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IdahoDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IllinoisDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IndianaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IowaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KansasMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
KentuckyMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
LouisianaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MaineMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MarylandMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MassachusettsDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MichiganDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MinnesotaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MississippiMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MissouriMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
MontanaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NebraskaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
NevadaDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New HampshireMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New JerseyMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New MexicoDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
New YorkDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
North DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Northern Mariana IslandsDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OhioMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OklahomaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
OregonDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PennsylvaniaDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Puerto RicoDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Rhode IslandDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South CarolinaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
South DakotaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TennesseeMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TexasDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
U.S. Virgin IslandsDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
UtahMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VermontMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WashingtonMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Washington, DCDoes not meetProgram does not meet the educational requirements for certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
West VirginiaMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WisconsinMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026
WyomingMeets (as stated by the school)Program will lead to teacher/leader certificationSource: augusta.edu · verified October 12, 2026

CACREP accreditation does not guarantee licensure in every state, and school counselor certification is not the same as clinical counselor licensure. LPC, LMHC and other state titles · School counselor credentials

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.augusta.edu/preview_course_nopop.php?catoid=48&coid=220348 — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.augusta.edu/preview_course_nopop.php?catoid=48&coid=220350 — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. augusta.edu/education/counseling-licensure.php — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. augusta.edu/education/research-counseling-curriculum/counseling-med.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. augusta.edu/gradschool/med-counselor-edu-adm-reqs.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. augusta.edu/programs/counselor-education-med.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. augusta.edu/tuition/program.php?id=178 — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. CACREP Directory of accredited programs (CSV export downloaded 2026-10-11) — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, specialty and format family, programs in Georgia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Clinical Mental Health-School Counseling (ME6298)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Athens, OH
Delivery: Format not verifiedStudy intensity not published
Practical training: Format not verified100 practicum + 1,200 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Within 2-3 years
Tuition: $608 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Athens Campus Graduate Tuition 2026-27, Ohio resident total per credit hour (instructional $530 + general $78) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

South Dakota State University

Counseling and Human Resource Development (M.S.) – School Counseling Specialization

Awarded degree: Master of Science in counseling and human resource development specializing in school counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Brookings, SD
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: $358.40 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Cost Per Credit Hour, Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $41,349 (60 credits × $689.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Minnesota State University, Mankato logo

Minnesota State University, Mankato

Counseling and Student Personnel (MS) Professional School Counseling K-12

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counseling and Student Personnel, Professional School Counseling K-12 emphasis

School Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Mankato, MN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2 years (full-time (12 credits in fall and spring, 3-9 credits in summer)) · 60 credits
Tuition: $570 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate program cost per credit, All Other Graduate Programs, MN Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $49,560 (60 credits × $826 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

CounselingSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Augusta University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and licensure eligibility with the school and your state board.