Master's Degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online Synchronous Track)
Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
An independent directory of US counseling schools and degrees
91 programs · page 2 of 5
Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list
17
No campus visits for coursework (stated)
41
Campus residencies or visits required
44
Placement support stated
50
GRE not required (stated)
Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling
Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Addiction Counseling
Addiction Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Education in School Counseling (Leads to Initial Licensure)
School Counseling
Hazelden Betty Ford Graduate School
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling
Addiction Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling
School Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Addictions Counseling
Addiction Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts (MA) in Addiction Counseling
Addiction Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Education (MEd) in School Counseling
School Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling
Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling
School Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Counselor Education with Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration
Rehabilitation Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Education in School Counseling
School Counseling
North Carolina State University
Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
North Carolina State University
Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)
College Counseling and Student Affairs
Estimated total tuition = published per-credit rate × published required credits, or a published whole-program figure; rate for all students or, where rates differ, the nonresident rate. Fees, residency travel and practicum costs excluded. Programs that do not publish comparable figures are not ranked as cheaper or more expensive.
| School and program | Format | Published rate used | Credits | Estimated total tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Canyon UniversityOnline Master’s in Addiction Counseling Degree | Online | $610 per creditOnline students — Online · year not stated | 36 | $21,960rate × credits |
| Utah Valley UniversityMaster of Education in School Counseling, M.Ed. (Online cohort) | Online | $467.46 per creditAll students — Cost of attendance per credit hour as printed on program page · year not stated | 48 | $22,438.08rate × credits |
| University of the CumberlandsOnline Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Online | $449 per creditOnline students — Graduate - Counseling Programs (Clinical Mental Health & CES), online, per credit hour · year not stated | 60 | $26,940rate × credits |
| Liberty UniversityMaster’s in Addiction Counseling Online | Online | $600 per creditOnline students — Master's programs, online, full-time per credit hour · 2026-2027 | 48 | $28,800rate × credits |
| The University of AlabamaRehabilitation Counseling, MA | Online | $28,800 entire programOnline students — Program total, 60 hours, 2025-2026 tuition rates · 2025-2026 | 60 | $28,800published total |
| Indiana Wesleyan UniversityOnline Master's in Addiction Counseling | Online | $610 per creditAll students · year not stated | 48 | $29,280rate × credits |
| Emporia State UniversityMS - Clinical Counseling, Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration - Deaf and Hard of Hearing | Online | $32,005.40 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — Clinical Counseling Online Non-Resident (2026-2027 program cost estimate) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $32,005.40published total |
| Emporia State UniversityMS-Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration - Autism Spectrum Disorder | Online | $32,005.40 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — Clinical Counseling Online Non-Resident (2026-2027 program cost estimate) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $32,005.40published total |
| Emporia State UniversitySchool Counseling, MS | Online | $32,005.40 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — School Counseling Online Non-Resident (2026-2027 program cost estimate) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $32,005.40published total |
| Adams State UniversityM.A. in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online) | Online | $545 per creditAll students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027 | 60 | $32,700rate × credits |
| Adams State UniversityM.A. in Counseling - School Counseling (Online) | Online | $545 per creditAll students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027 | 60 | $32,700rate × credits |
| University of Louisiana at MonroeMaster of Science in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Fully online coursework | $550 per creditAll students · year not stated | 60 | $33,000rate × credits |
| University of Louisiana at MonroeMaster of Science in Counseling - School Counseling | Fully online coursework | $550 per creditAll students · year not stated | 60 | $33,000rate × credits |
| Ohio UniversitySchool Counseling Online Master's Degree (ME6332) | Online | $555 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — OHIO Online (eCampus) Graduate Tuition 2026-27, out-of-state total per credit hour · 2026-2027 | 60 | $33,300rate × credits |
| Texas Tech University Health Sciences CenterAddiction Counseling (M.S.) - Online | Online | $579 per creditOnline students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $34,740rate × credits |
| Texas Tech University Health Sciences CenterClinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) - Online | Online | $579 per creditOnline students — Out-of-state students residing outside Texas enrolled in a distance learning program (flat rate) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $34,740rate × credits |
| Liberty UniversityMA in Clinical Mental Health Counseling Degree Online | Online | $600 per creditOnline students — Master's programs, online, full-time per credit hour · 2026-2027 | 60 | $36,000rate × credits |
| Liberty UniversityOnline Master’s in School Counseling (MEd) | Online | $600 per creditOnline students — Master's programs, online, full-time per credit hour (the M.Ed. teaching rate excludes School of Behavioral Sciences programs) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $36,000rate × credits |
| Mississippi State UniversityMaster of Science in Counselor Education with a concentration in Rehabilitation Counseling (Online) | Online | $602.50 per creditAll students — Tuition per credit hour (in-state tuition for all students) · year not stated | 60 | $36,150rate × credits |
| Indiana Wesleyan UniversityMaster's in School Counseling Online | Online | $610 per creditAll students · year not stated | 60 | $36,600rate × credits |
| Grand Canyon UniversityOnline MEd in School Counseling Degree | Online | $625 per creditOnline students — Online · year not stated | 60 | $37,500rate × credits |
| Auburn UniversityMaster of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Distance) | Online | $630 per creditOnline students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not stated | 60 | $37,800rate × credits |
| Auburn UniversityMaster of Education (M.Ed.) - Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling (Distance) | Online | $630 per creditOnline students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not stated | 60 | $37,800rate × credits |
| Auburn UniversityMaster of Education (M.Ed.) - School Counseling (Distance) | Online | $630 per creditOnline students — Graduate online course fees (charged instead of tuition), 1 credit hour · year not stated | 60 | $37,800rate × credits |
| Grand Canyon UniversityOnline Master’s in Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Online | $610 per creditOnline students — Online · year not stated | 62 | $37,820rate × credits |
| Indiana Wesleyan UniversityMaster's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Online | $635 per creditAll students · year not stated | 60 | $38,100rate × credits |
| Old Dominion UniversityCounseling - Clinical Mental Health Master's Program (online, ODUGlobal) | Online | $662 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — ODUGlobal program page, out-of-state students per credit hour, effective Fall 2026 · year not stated | 60 | $39,720rate × credits |
| University of Massachusetts BostonCounseling MEd (School Counseling), online program | Online | $673 per creditOnline students — School Counseling (Online track) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $40,380rate × credits |
| University of Massachusetts BostonMental Health Counseling MS (online) | Online | $673 per creditOnline students — Mental Health Counseling -MS (Online track) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $40,380rate × credits |
| University of Massachusetts BostonRehabilitation Counseling MS — Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling track | Online | $673 per creditAll students — Rehabilitation Counseling (MEd) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $40,380rate × credits |
| University of Massachusetts BostonRehabilitation Counseling MS — Vocational Rehabilitation Counseling track | Online | $673 per creditAll students — Rehabilitation Counseling (MEd) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $40,380rate × credits |
| Bellevue UniversityMaster of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Online | $680 per creditAll students — Graduate Online & On Campus · 2026-2027 | 60 | $40,800rate × credits |
| Winthrop UniversityOnline M.Ed. in Counseling and Development in Clinical Mental Health | Fully online coursework | $41,940 entire programOnline students — Total tuition · year not stated | 60 | $41,940published total |
| Winthrop UniversityOnline M.Ed. in Counseling and Development in School Counseling | Fully online coursework | $41,940 entire programOnline students — Total tuition · year not stated | 60 | $41,940published total |
| Regent UniversityM.A. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online w/ Residency) | Online | $730 per creditOnline students — Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $43,800rate × credits |
| Regent UniversityM.A. in Marriage, Couple & Family Counseling (Online w/ Residency) | Online | $730 per creditOnline students — Master of Arts in Marriage, Couple & Family Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $43,800rate × credits |
| Regent UniversityM.A. in School Counseling (Online w/ Residency) | Online | $730 per creditOnline students — Master of Arts in School Counseling (Online) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $43,800rate × credits |
| University of Tennessee at MartinMSED: Counseling: Clinical Mental Health | Online | $764 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Online courses, graduate tuition, out of state/international · 2026-2027 | 60 | $45,840rate × credits |
| University of Tennessee at MartinMSED: Counseling: School | Online | $764 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Online courses, graduate tuition, out of state/international · 2026-2027 | 60 | $45,840rate × credits |
| West Virginia UniversityOnline Counseling, M.S. - Emphasis in Clinical Mental Health | Online | $764 per creditOnline students — Online program cost per credit hour · year not stated | 60 | $45,840rate × credits |
| Capella UniversityMS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling – Addiction Treatment and Recovery | Online | $525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated | 90 | $47,250rate × credits |
| Capella UniversityMS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling – Child and Adolescent Counseling | Online | $525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated | 90 | $47,250rate × credits |
| Capella UniversityMS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling – General Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Online | $525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated | 90 | $47,250rate × credits |
| Capella UniversityMS in School Counseling – Addiction Treatment and Recovery | Online | $525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated | 90 | $47,250rate × credits |
| Capella UniversityMS in School Counseling – Child and Adolescent Counseling | Online | $525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated | 90 | $47,250rate × credits |
| Capella UniversityMS in School Counseling – General School Counseling | Online | $525 per creditAll students — GuidedPath tuition · year not stated | 90 | $47,250rate × credits |
| Sacred Heart UniversitySchool Counseling - MA | Online | $48,000 entire programAll students — Total estimated cost, minus fees · year not stated | 60 | $48,000published total |
| University of KentuckyMaster's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Online | $806 per creditOnline students · year not stated | 60 | $48,360rate × credits |
| University of KentuckyMaster's Degree (MAC) in Counselor Education — Rehabilitation Counseling | Online | $806 per creditOnline students · year not stated | 60 | $48,360rate × credits |
| Messiah UniversityMaster of Arts - Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Fully online coursework | $49,200 entire programAll students — Tuition for the entire 60 credit-hour program at the 2026-2027 rate · 2026-2027 | 60 | $49,200published total |
| Messiah UniversityMaster of Arts in Counseling - Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling | Fully online coursework | $49,200 entire programAll students — Tuition for the entire 60 credit-hour program at the 2026-2027 rate · 2026-2027 | 60 | $49,200published total |
| Messiah UniversityMaster of Arts in Counseling - School Counseling | Fully online coursework | $49,200 entire programAll students — Tuition for the entire 60 credit-hour program at the 2026-2027 rate · 2026-2027 | 60 | $49,200published total |
| Walden UniversityMS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (General Program) | Fully online coursework | $550 per creditAll students — Tuition per quarter hour · year not stated | 90 | $49,500rate × credits |
| Walden UniversityMS in School Counseling | Fully online coursework | $550 per creditAll students — Tuition per quarter hour · year not stated | 90 | $49,500rate × credits |
| William & MaryMilitary and Veterans Counseling (MVC) specialization, Online M.Ed. in Counseling (Clinical Mental Health Counseling concentration) | Online | $825 per creditAll students — Online M.Ed. in Counseling · 2026-2027 | 60 | $49,500rate × credits |
| William & MaryOnline Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counseling with a concentration in Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Online | $825 per creditAll students — Online M.Ed. in Counseling · 2026-2027 | 60 | $49,500rate × credits |
| William & MaryOnline Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counseling with a concentration in School Counseling | Online | $825 per creditAll students — Online M.Ed. in Counseling · 2026-2027 | 60 | $49,500rate × credits |
| Texas Tech University Health Sciences CenterClinical Rehabilitation Counseling (M.S.) - Online | Online | $50,369 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — Total program estimate, Non-Resident (60 credit hours) · 2026-2027 | — | $50,369published total |
| University of OklahomaOnline Master of Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Fully online coursework | $50,700 entire programOnline students — Program total · year not stated | 60 | $50,700published total |
| George Fox UniversityMaster's Degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online Synchronous Track) | Online | $50,880 entire programAll students · year not stated | 60 | $50,880published total |
| Hazelden Betty Ford Graduate SchoolMaster's in Counseling, Specialty: Addiction Counseling Online Program | Online | $849 per creditAll students · 2026-2027 | 60 | $50,940rate × credits |
| Sacred Heart UniversityClinical Mental Health Counseling - MA | Online | $54,000 entire programAll students — Total estimated cost, minus fees · year not stated | 60 | $54,000published total |
| George Fox UniversityMaster's Degree in Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling (Online Synchronous Track) | Online | $54,272 entire programAll students · year not stated | 64 | $54,272published total |
| Walden UniversityMS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling – Addiction Counseling specialization | Online | $550 per creditAll students — Tuition per quarter hour · year not stated | 100 | $55,000rate × credits |
| Marquette UniversityOnline Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Online | $64,800 entire programOnline students — Total estimated tuition (60 credit hours) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $64,800published total |
| Bradley UniversityOnline Master of Arts in Counseling - Professional School Counseling | Online | $1,158 per creditAll students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate Programs (applies to on-campus and online programs) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $69,480rate × credits |
| Bradley UniversityOnline Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Online | $1,158 per creditAll students — Graduate Tuition, Traditional Graduate Programs (applies to on-campus and online programs) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $69,480rate × credits |
| Seattle UniversityClinical Mental Health Counseling, Online, MAEd | Online | $70,110 entire programAll students · 2026-2027 | 60 | $70,110published total |
| Seattle UniversitySchool Counseling, Online, MAEd | Online | $70,110 entire programAll students · 2026-2027 | 60 | $70,110published total |
| University of Alaska FairbanksClinical Mental Health Counseling (M.Ed.) | Fully online coursework | $1,201 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Non-resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $72,060rate × credits |
| University of Alaska FairbanksSchool Counseling (M.Ed.) | Fully online coursework | $1,201 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Non-resident, graduate level (600-level) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $72,060rate × credits |
| University of DenverOnline Master of Arts in School Counseling (SchoolCounseling@Denver) | Fully online coursework | $1,120 per creditAll students · 2026-2027 | 90 | $100,800rate × credits |
| Wake Forest UniversityOnline Master of Arts in Counseling – Clinical Mental Health Track | Online | $1,700 per creditOnline students — Online Counseling & Human Services (per hour) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $102,000rate × credits |
| Wake Forest UniversityOnline Master of Arts in Counseling – School Counseling Track | Online | $1,700 per creditOnline students — Online Counseling & Human Services (per hour) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $102,000rate × credits |
| North Carolina State UniversityClinical Mental Health Counseling (Online Option) | Online | $1,804.11 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate - Standard DE Rate, Nonresidents of North Carolina (1 hour) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $108,246.60rate × credits |
| North Carolina State UniversityCollege Counseling and Student Development (Online Option) | Online | $1,804.11 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate - Standard DE Rate, Nonresidents of North Carolina (1 hour) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $108,246.60rate × credits |
| North Carolina State UniversitySchool Counseling (Online Option) | Online | $1,804.11 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate - Standard DE Rate, Nonresidents of North Carolina (1 hour) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $108,246.60rate × credits |
Deadlines and tuition are shown with their intake and academic year. Past dates are marked passed, never rolled forward. Back to all online counseling degrees