School Counseling, MS
Awarded degree: Master of Science in School Counseling
School Counseling
An independent directory of US counseling schools and degrees
Counseling degrees that US colleges and universities offer with online coursework — master's, doctoral and bachelor's. “Online” describes how classes are delivered, not the whole degree: clinical and school counseling programs require supervised practicum and internship in person, and some also require campus residencies. Every listing shows both, as the school states them.
Hybrid programs with regular on-campus classes are not listed here; find them with the hybrid filter.
100 programs · page 2 of 5
Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list
100
verified online programs
18
state no campus visits for coursework
46
require campus residencies or visits
84
CACREP-accredited, listed online by CACREP
Campus attendance for coursework
Some online counseling programs require residencies or intensives on campus — often to practice counseling skills in person before practicum. Others state that no campus visits are required. We show “No campus visits (stated)” only when the institution says so; otherwise the requirement is listed or marked not verified.
Practicum and internship
Clinical and school counseling programs require supervised practicum and internship at an approved site — in person, usually near where you live. Profiles show the published hours, who arranges the site, whether the program offers placement support and any location rules. “No campus visits” never means “no in-person requirements”.
Awarded degree: Master of Science in School Counseling
School Counseling
Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Masters (MA) in Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling
Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling
Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Counseling with an Emphasis in Addiction, Chemical Dependency, and Substance Abuse
Addiction Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Addiction Counseling
Addiction Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Education in School Counseling (Leads to Initial Licensure)
School Counseling
Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education and Supervision
Counselor Education and Supervision
Hazelden Betty Ford Graduate School
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling
Addiction Counseling
Addiction Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling
School Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Addictions Counseling
Addiction Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts (MA) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts (MA) in Addiction Counseling
Addiction Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Education (MEd) in School Counseling
School Counseling
Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Counselor Education and Supervision
Counselor Education and Supervision
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling
Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling
Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling
Schools publish online tuition per credit, per term or for the whole program, and often separately for residents and nonresidents. To compare like with like, we estimate total tuition only where a program publishes both a per-credit rate and its required credits (or a whole-program figure), using the rate that applies to all students or, when rates differ, the nonresident rate. Fees, residency travel and fieldwork costs are excluded. 77 of 91 online master's programs publish enough to be compared; the full method is on the affordable online counseling master's page.
| School and program | Format | Published rate used | Credits | Estimated total tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Canyon UniversityOnline Master’s in Addiction Counseling Degree | Online | $610 per creditOnline students — Online · year not stated | 36 | $21,960rate × credits |
| Utah Valley UniversityMaster of Education in School Counseling, M.Ed. (Online cohort) | Online | $467.46 per creditAll students — Cost of attendance per credit hour as printed on program page · year not stated | 48 | $22,438.08rate × credits |
| University of the CumberlandsOnline Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling | Online | $449 per creditOnline students — Graduate - Counseling Programs (Clinical Mental Health & CES), online, per credit hour · year not stated | 60 | $26,940rate × credits |
| Liberty UniversityMaster’s in Addiction Counseling Online | Online | $600 per creditOnline students — Master's programs, online, full-time per credit hour · 2026-2027 | 48 | $28,800rate × credits |
| The University of AlabamaRehabilitation Counseling, MA | Online | $28,800 entire programOnline students — Program total, 60 hours, 2025-2026 tuition rates · 2025-2026 | 60 | $28,800published total |
| Indiana Wesleyan UniversityOnline Master's in Addiction Counseling | Online | $610 per creditAll students · year not stated | 48 | $29,280rate × credits |
| Emporia State UniversityMS - Clinical Counseling, Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration - Deaf and Hard of Hearing | Online | $32,005.40 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — Clinical Counseling Online Non-Resident (2026-2027 program cost estimate) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $32,005.40published total |
| Emporia State UniversityMS-Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling Concentration - Autism Spectrum Disorder | Online | $32,005.40 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — Clinical Counseling Online Non-Resident (2026-2027 program cost estimate) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $32,005.40published total |
| Emporia State UniversitySchool Counseling, MS | Online | $32,005.40 entire programNonresident (out-of-state) — School Counseling Online Non-Resident (2026-2027 program cost estimate) · 2026-2027 | 60 | $32,005.40published total |
| Adams State UniversityM.A. in Counseling - Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online) | Online | $545 per creditAll students — Couns Ed: Resident & Non-Resident Online · 2026-2027 | 60 | $32,700rate × credits |
An online program listed under a state is offered by a school based in that state. Schools must be authorized to enroll online students in each state, and some publish states they cannot accept. Where a school publishes enrollment restrictions, the program page shows them; use the enrollment-restrictions filter to find them.
Licensure is decided by the state where you will practice. 81 of 91 online master's programs link an official professional licensure disclosure or a state-by-state table, shown on each profile. “Meets educational requirements” covers the degree only; exams, supervised experience and the board application come after.
International students: online study generally does not lead to a US student visa, and practicum sites must meet the program's requirements. Programs that publish whether international students may enroll show it on their page.