Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

Part-Time Master's in Counseling Programs

Master's programs in counseling that publish a part-time option. Part-time study spreads the same credits over more terms, but practicum and internship still require substantial weekly hours at a field site — check each program's published fieldwork requirements.

Rule: Included when the program's official page states part-time study. This page updates from the directory's verified facts.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Montclair State University

MA in Counseling, School Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Montclair, NJ
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: most full-time students complete the degree in 2½ to 3 years (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $962 per credit · All students — General Master's, In-State/Out-of-State, Fall and Spring · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $57,720 (60 credits × $962 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Montclair State University

MA in Counseling, Student Affairs/Counseling in Higher Education Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

College Counseling and Student Affairs

Master'sMACACREP: not listed
Location: Montclair, NJ
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 300 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as little as 1½ to 2 years · 33 credits
Tuition: $962 per credit · All students — General Master's, In-State/Out-of-State, Fall and Spring · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $31,746 (33 credits × $962 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (On-Campus Option)

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Raleigh, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years to completion if full time (full-time, following the published sequence starting in summer) · 60 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Residents of North Carolina (per credit hour, 1 hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Online Option)

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Study part time and complete in 3 years (part-time cohort) · 60 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Standard DE Rate, Residents of North Carolina (1 hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

College Counseling and Student Development (On-Campus Option)

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.)

College Counseling and Student Affairs

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Raleigh, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Complete the program in as little as 3 years (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Residents of North Carolina (per credit hour, 1 hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

School Counseling (On-Campus Option)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Raleigh, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years to completion if full time (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Residents of North Carolina (per credit hour, 1 hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

School Counseling (Online Option)

Awarded degree: Master of Education

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Study part time and complete in 3 years (part-time cohort) · 60 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Standard DE Rate, Residents of North Carolina (1 hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $108,246.60 (60 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Northwestern University logo

Northwestern University

Counseling@Northwestern – Online Master of Arts in Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Evanston, ILSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus immersion; practicum and internship required in person200 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: as few as 18 months full time or 36 months part time (full-time (18 months); part-time (36 months)) · 24 credits
Tuition: $5,915 per course · Online students — Online Tuition, Counseling · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 26, 2026 · Winter 2027 (January 2027)
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Counseling with a Concentration in School Counseling (MSEd)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Education (Counseling with a Concentration in School Counseling)

School Counseling

Master'sMSEd CACREP
Location: Norfolk, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, in state per credit hour ($510 standard + $162 mandatory auxiliary), Norfolk campus courses · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $91,380 (60 credits × $1,523 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Oregon State University logo

Oregon State University

Master of Counseling in Clinical Mental Health

Awarded degree: Master of Counseling (M.Coun.) with an option in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMCoun CACREP
Location: Corvallis, OR
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part-time
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: approximately three years (part-time) · 90 credits
Tuition: $643 per credit · All students — Ecampus per-credit rate (no additional charge for nonresident students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $57,870 (90 credits × $643 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Oregon State University logo

Oregon State University

Master of Counseling in School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Counseling (M.Coun.) with an option in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMCoun CACREP
Location: Corvallis, OR
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part-time
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: approximately three years (part-time) · 90 credits
Tuition: $643 per credit · All students — Ecampus per-credit rate (no additional charge for nonresident students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $57,870 (90 credits × $643 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Oregon State University logo

Oregon State University

Master of Counseling, Clinical Mental Health Counseling (OSU-Cascades)

Awarded degree: Master of Counseling (MCoun), Clinical Mental Health Counseling option

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMCoun CACREP
Location: Corvallis, OR
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: two-year or three-year option · 90 credits
Tuition: $50,751.80 entire program · Resident (in-state) — Resident: Full-Time Schedule, total estimated tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Oregon State University logo

Oregon State University

Master of Counseling, School Counseling (OSU-Cascades)

Awarded degree: Master of Counseling (MCoun), School Counseling option

School Counseling

Master'sMCoun CACREP
Location: Corvallis, OR
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: two-year or three-year option · 90 credits
Tuition: $50,751.80 entire program · Resident (in-state) — Resident: Full-Time Schedule (2 Years), total estimated tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling - MA

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Fairfield, CTSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: as few as 2 years · 60 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students — Cost per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: December 7, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
San Diego State University logo

San Diego State University

M.S. in Early Childhood and Family Clinical Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Early Childhood and Family Clinical Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling · Early Childhood and Family Clinical Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: San Diego, CA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum required280 practicum hours (as published)
Duration: 2 full years, including summer courses (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $4,274 per semester · All students — Basic Tuition, graduate full-time (6.1 or more units), per semester, Fall 2026 · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,260 (60 credits × $471 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Summer/Fall 2027
View Program
University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo

Mental Health Counseling, MS (online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) in Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: Buffalo, NYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; internship required600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 4 years, including 2 summers (part-time online) · 60 credits
Tuition: $471 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate, per credit · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo

Rehabilitation Counseling, MS (on campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Buffalo, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required150 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 4 to 6 full-time semesters (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $471 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate, per credit · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University at Buffalo logo

University at Buffalo

Rehabilitation Counseling, MS (online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) in Rehabilitation Counseling

Rehabilitation Counseling

Master'sMSCACREP: not listed
Location: Buffalo, NYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required150 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: completed in less than three years (part-time online) · 60 credits
Tuition: $471 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Fall 2026 Resident Graduate, per credit · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Denver logo

University of Denver

Online Master of Arts in School Counseling (SchoolCounseling@Denver)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Denver, COSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: as few as 22 months (full-time) · 90 credits
Tuition: $1,120 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $100,800 (90 credits × $1,120 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 23, 2026 · January 2027
View Program
University of Florida logo

University of Florida

On-Campus M.Ed./Ed.S. Marriage and Family Counseling Track

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.) and Education Specialist (Ed.S.); Master of Arts in Education (M.A.E.) with thesis

Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling

Master'sMEdCACREP: not listed
Location: Gainesville, FL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: Program Completion: 2.5 years · 72 credits
Tuition: $532.52 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Courses (5000-9999), Total Florida Resident Rate/Credit Hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $104,348.16 (72 credits × $1,449.28 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View Program