Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

School Counseling Programs

School counseling programs prepare counselors for PK–12 schools. School counselors are credentialed by state education agencies (certification or licensure as a school counselor) — a different credential from clinical counselor licensure, with its own requirements that vary by state.

Rule: Included when the program's own official title or description names school counseling as its specialty. Other specialties offered by the same school are not counted. This page updates from the directory's verified facts.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Western New Mexico University logo

Western New Mexico University

Master of Counseling - School Counseling (SC)

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMA CACREP
Location: Silver City, NMSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified
Duration: three-year program · 60 credits
Tuition: $1,151.88 per semester · Resident (in-state) — Graduate resident, 3 credit hours per semester (tuition & fees + online fee) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

William & Mary

Online Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counseling with a concentration in School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.) in Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Williamsburg, VASchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus residencies required · Part-time
Practical training: Online coursework with campus residency; practicum and internship required in person100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: as few as three years · 60 credits
Tuition: $825 per credit · All students — Online M.Ed. in Counseling · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $49,500 (60 credits × $825 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Winthrop University

M.Ed. in Counseling and Development, School Counseling Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling - School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required175 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 3 years (7 semesters) · 60 credits
Tuition: $521 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Campus-Based 12+ Credit Hours, In-State Graduate (tuition + technology + activity fee) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $60,240 (60 credits × $1,004 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Winthrop University

Online M.Ed. in Counseling and Development in School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education in Counseling - School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP Fully online coursework
Location: Rock Hill, SCSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Full-time
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local practicum and internship required175 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)Placement support stated
Duration: 3 years (7 semesters) (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $699 per credit · Online students · year not stated
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Summer 2027
View Program
Location: Dayton, OH
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Full-time or part-time
Practical training: Hybrid classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: 2.5- 3.5 years for full time students (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: $700 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Tuition (1–10.5 hours), Ohio Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $71,280 (60 credits × $1,188 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program