Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net

PhD Programs in Counseling and Counselor Education

Doctor of Philosophy programs in counseling — most are PhD programs in Counselor Education and Supervision. They prepare counselor educators, clinical supervisors and researchers and usually require a counseling master's degree. A PhD is not a substitute for entry-level counselor preparation.

Rule: Included when the awarded degree is a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in a counseling field. This page updates from the directory's verified facts.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

University of Nevada, Las Vegas logo

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Doctor of Philosophy - Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhDCACREP: In ProcessFunding not verified
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $383.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate courses · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

PhD in Counseling and Counselor Education

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counseling and Counselor Education

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Greensboro, NC
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; internship required
Duration: 3-year full-time program (full-time) · 72 credits
Tuition: $8,845 per academic year · Resident (in-state) — Graduate annual tuition & fees, in-state · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of North Texas logo

University of North Texas

Counselor Education and Supervision, PhD

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Denton, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes
Duration: Est. time to complete: 3-4 years · 72 credits
Tuition: $50 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Statutory Tuition for Texas Residents (component; graduate students also pay Board Designated and Board Authorized tuition) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,416 (72 credits × $478 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of the Cumberlands

Online Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision

Awarded degree: Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Williamsburg, KYSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.Campus attendance not verified · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Online coursework; campus attendance not verified; practicum and internship required
Duration: Length not published · 66 credits
Tuition: $449 per credit · Online students — Graduate - Counseling Programs (Clinical Mental Health & CES), online, per credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $29,634 (66 credits × $449 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Walden University

PhD in Counselor Education and Supervision

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREP Fully online courseworkFunding not verified
Location: Minneapolis, MNSchool location, not where online students live or train
Delivery: Fully online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Practicum and internship are completed in person at approved sites, and some programs also require campus residencies.No campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Practical training: Fully online coursework; local internship required
Duration: 2.5-year minimum completion requirement; 8-year maximum (minimum per Walden academic policy) · 90 credits
Tuition: $640 per credit · All students — Coursework tuition per quarter hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $57,600 (90 credits × $640 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

William & Mary

Ph.D. in Counselor Education

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhD CACREPFunding not verified
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Full-time
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Three years, full-time (full-time) · 69 credits
Tuition: $606 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-State Resident, per credit hour (part-time students and summer) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $112,539 (69 credits × $1,631 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program