Skip to content
CounselingSchools.net
University of Nevada, Las Vegas campus — University of Nevada, Las Vegas
University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Campus photograph of University of Nevada, Las Vegas. · Photo: Renjishino · CC BY 3.0 · source
University of Nevada, Las Vegas logo

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Las Vegas, NVPublic NWCCUOfficial website

The University of Nevada, Las Vegas offers counseling degrees through the Department of Counselor Education, School Psychology, and Human Services in the College of Education: a 60-credit M.S. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling, a 60-credit M.Ed. in School Counseling and a Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision. Classes are taught primarily in person on the Las Vegas campus.

Counseling programs at University of Nevada, Las Vegas

3 eligible programs verified (2 master's, 1 doctoral); formats: on campus. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Master's Degrees in Counseling

University of Nevada, Las Vegas logo

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Master of Education - School Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Education (M.Ed.) in School Counseling

School Counseling

Master'sMEd CACREP
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $383.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate courses · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Nevada, Las Vegas logo

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Master of Science - Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Awarded degree: Master of Science (M.S.) in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMS CACREP
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; practicum and internship required100 practicum + 600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Standard CMHC 2 1/2-Year Plan (standard course sequence) · 60 credits
Tuition: $383.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate courses · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Doctoral Programs in Counseling

University of Nevada, Las Vegas logo

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Doctor of Philosophy - Counselor Education and Supervision

Counselor Education and Supervision

PhDCACREP: In ProcessFunding not verified
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Study intensity not published
Practical training: On-campus classes; internship required600 internship hours (as published)
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $383.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate courses · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since December 1, 1964 · next review 10/01/2031

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

The university states: “UNLV is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.” Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists counseling bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, Ed.S. degrees, social work, psychology or standalone marriage and family therapy degrees…).
  • Master of Science - Couple and Family TherapyStandalone MFT, outside core directory.Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Bachelor of Science in Human ServicesHuman services degree, not a counseling-titled degree.Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Advanced Graduate Certificates in Mental Health Counseling, School Counseling and Addiction StudiesPost-master's certificates.Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Specialist in Education - School PsychologySchool psychology / EdS.Source: unlv.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
4505 S Maryland Pky, Las Vegas, NV 89154
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Counseling degrees awarded, all specialties (IPEDS counseling CIP codes incl. counseling psychology, first major)
25 master's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), counseling CIP codes — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. unlv.edu/admissions/graduate/application-deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. unlv.edu/degree/bs-human-services — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. unlv.edu/degree/med-school-counseling — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. unlv.edu/degree/phd-counselor-education-supervision — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. unlv.edu/provost/svpaa/accreditation — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. unlv.edu/sites/default/files/media/document/2024-08/CEP-CED-Handbook.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile